We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boardwalk RV Resort
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Needs some upgrades”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 10 nights in our Motorhome. I wouldn't say it is a "must to avoid" but I also would not go out of my way to stay here again. The worse parts were the public areas, specifically the Showers, "Fitness Center", and Laundry room. They are in serious need of upgrades. The showers were old, damp, dark, smelly, and there was a ton of mold/mildew in the shower itself. The shower head and handle had to be 20 years old. They could easily be replaced by management at minimal cost. The "fitness center" smelled so bad, we couldn't stand to be in there. A lot of Pine-sol smell - obviously trying to cover up another smell. The equipment was very old and in dis-repair. The Laundry room was small (one small folding table), and very hot (little ventilation), and cobwebs galore! The Clubhouse however looked brand new and very attractive, although there wasn't any reason to use it (no entertainment or activities while we were there).

Our site's sewer pipe was broken when we arrived. I called the office and they had someone fix it within 10 minutes. However he took the cover and we were left with a faint sewer smell for the remainder of our stay. I did call the office and left a message about it but no one ever came to put a cover on it. (I don't leave my drains hooked up while I camp - I don't like the looks of it).

Also, it is "Gated" community, but the code is so generic, a three-year-old could figure it out. And cars behind you tailgate and enter without having to enter the code. Seems pointless.

I will say the location was perfect - close to the Everglades, The Keys, and of course Robert is Here. There is plenty to do in the area, thats for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MattwG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey L, Manager at Boardwalk RV Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2014
Hello MattwG, thank you for taking the time to offer us feedback concerning your stay with us. It is our mission to ensure that our guests have a memorable stay with us, and we apologize that we disappointed you during your stay. Our property has been going through some major positive changes since April, including many upgrades that I believe you'd be delighted with. I'd like to invite you to give us a second chance next time you are in need of making reservations in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
21
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We used this RV park for the annual NASCAR event. In the past be have stayed at Southern Comfort. You want to talk about a nasty place to stay try that one. We found Boardwalk a great place to stay. It was very quiet and everyone was friendly. Even the people who live there full time. Anyone that has a complaint with this facility did not stay where we did. I highly recoment this to all you RVers who attend the NASCAR race in November and are tired of being ripped off at Southern Comfort.

Room Tip: This is a camping and RV Park with full time doublewide housing on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey L, Manager at Boardwalk RV Resort, responded to this review, December 17, 2014
Thank you Terry C for taking the time to offer feedback about your stay with us! We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable and hopefully a memorable experience at our park. We would like to invite you to stay with us again next time you are seeking accommodations in the Homestead area. In the mean time, please stay connected via our Facebook page,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We spent four nights at the Boardwalk this month. As described by many before, this is not just an RV campground but a combination of campground, mobile home park and permanantly placed manufactured housing units. There is one full section on the southeast side of the property that is only RVs but even many of those have clearly been here a very extended time with grass growing high around their wheels/jacks and lots of permanant looking items outside.

We found the place on the internet and submitted a reservation/information request online. We were contacted quickly by Glenn who phoned and spoke to my husband. We'd read the reviews here and had some concerns, but having been to a number of other of these parks in Florida it seemed like the layout and population was going to be about the same as we'd experienced at other places. We also took a look at it via Google Earth to get a feel for the local and the make up of the park population.

Initially booked for a full week but it turned out there was less we found we wanted to explore in the keys than initially thought. Location is excellent for day trips into the keys and during the high season probably a good idea since all other parks in the keys were full up. The office was cooperative in our shortened stay decision.

Arrived after office hours. Would have been good to have been told the drill for this when we called but we were able to figure out that the stuff taped to the door was packets for incoming campers. The packet provided good info on wifi code, local stuff, the property and the map was clearly marked to show where our site was and the suggested route for us to reach it.

Site we were given was clean and spacious...but was probably recently a mobile home or manufactured homesite rather than RV. Site 403 was between 2 permanent homes and across the street from one. Behind us were RVs. Not a bad site but certainly put a damper on one of the joys of RV travel, getting to know the neighbors. This site is also very close to the office and the pool/laundry/gameroom, etc. We arrived on a weekend night and party time at the pool was in full swing. It wasn't intrusive to us but it did run much later than the advertised quiet time. Same thing on both weekend nights. Things are much quieter during the week though. Since folks live here, you'll get both early and late traffic noise. One of our neighbors clearly had an early morning shift and his motorcycle was pretty loud - but we were sleeping in anyway or needed to be up to make a trip somewhere so no biggie. A must in this lifestyle is to understand you are living in close quarters with others much like apartment life so you have to be a bit more flexible and forgiving than if you were in your own home.

Would NOT want to be placed in the back of this park. We always do a full ride through our first night to get the full picture of a park. The really old and more poorly maintained units were toward the back of the park. Also, there is supposed to be trash pick up at the curb for RVs but ours was never picked up so we took it upon ourselves to find the dumpsters and get rid of it. It's NOT nice back there.

We also got to speak live with Glenn who was as nice in person as on the phone. I'd recommend he (or management?) consider replacing the woman at the desk today though as she is just downright snotty and there is no reason for it. It costs nothing to smile and be nice yet she was neither the times we dealt with her.

Room Tip: near the front - away from the more permanent homes in the RV section if you want to be social awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey L, Manager at Boardwalk RV Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Thank you Sandy B for taking the time to offer details about your experience at our resort last February. Our park has been going through some recent positive changes and with that being said I apologize for the delay in response. I am happy to read that you found our sites clean & spacious and that overall you had a pleasant experience. Our mission is to not be just a typical Florida RV park experience, it is to be the best experience. Our goal is to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience here with us. We greatly believe you will be pleased with our recent changes & upgrades and we would like to invite you to stay with us again next time you are in need of accommodations in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shermans Dale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

At the September 2013 RV Show in Hershey, PA, a nice-looking young man stood behind a booth extolling the delights of Board Walk RV Resort in Homestead, Florida. After a bright and upbeat spiel about his resort, billed as the "Gateway to the Florida Keys and Everglades National Park," I decided to accept his offer of a 10% discount and cancelled my reservations for that week at a nearby KOA.
He introduced himself as the manager and handed us a colorful brochure which contained a site map of the campground showing a swimming pool, fitness center, playground and laundry.
On our afternoon arrival, we could see immediately that this "resort" is nothing more than an aging trailer park jammed with park models, old trailers of a certain vintage (think "Lucy trailer") and badly maintained dwellings along with a few RV's.
I know this is painting me as being politically incorrect and elitist; however I'm trying to point out that Boardwalk RV Resort isn't as advertised.
The clerk at the desk seemed somewhat confused in dealing with our reservation and the promised discount but eventually gave us a site number. He apologized, saying he'd given our site to another arrival even though we showed up a little after 12 noon.
There was no escort to the site which we finally found to be a sea of mud with a couple of wooden planks left by a previous occupant. Additionally, there was no legal sewer connection for an RV; only some large PVC piping lying around and an open hole in the ground.
Returning to the desk I told the clerk that the site would not work for us and after fumbling with the computer he told us to try another site.
Arriving at the second site we found it to be already occupied.
We asked for and received a full refund.
The "manager" who sold us on the idea of visiting was nowhere to be found.
Bottom line: Boardwalk RV Resort is ideally located but is not set up for transient RV's. It is a trailer park with a few muddy open spaces they are trying to rent.
Turns are extremely tight for a 44-foot coach and many of the sites when we were there were too muddy to be useable.
Boardwalk RV Resort is not as advertised and is expensive.

Room Tip: In the opinion of this writer, an RV owner would be advised to try elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank tomgauger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casey L, Manager at Boardwalk RV Resort, responded to this review, January 18, 2015
Sir, thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us last January. Our resort has been going through some major positive changes and I would like to apologize for the delay in response. We are greatly disappointed and concerned that your stay with us was less than amazing. Our mission here at the Boardwalk is to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience with us. We feel that we are a lovely community and although we're unique because of our manufactured home and RV site combination, we pride ourselves on being a beautiful, well-kept resort with great amenities for all to enjoy. Our website and other medias offer up-to-date pictures and information regarding our park. We invite you to stay with us again, we believe you'll be delighted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NKY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here for two nights.
Compared with the places we stayed before( St Augustine and Juno Beach) this place isn't only a campground or place where retirees stay but a place where families seem to live year around.
We booked via phone and arrived while the office was closed....however the paperwork was attached to the office door and everything was described.
Water,Sewer,Power everything was there and worked fine.
This place is perfect to stay when you plan daytrips to the Keys...what we did.
This is probably not your typical campground but it is Ok and the price is good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank T-Bone N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This has to be the grungiest, unfriendly place we have ever been. We couldn't wait,to leave. The campsite was so close,to our neighbors we were luckie we could open our cellar doors to get to our hook ups. The sewer system was antiquated, and it is so close to route one it was very noisy. If you are heading for the keys you are better off putting in the extra time and stopping at one of the many campgrounds along the way.
Pass this place, not worth the big bucks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Homestead
0.6 mi away
Floridian Hotel
Floridian Hotel
#4 of 14 in Homestead
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Garden Inn
Garden Inn
#8 of 14 in Homestead
36 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Redland
The Hotel Redland
#3 of 14 in Homestead
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Florida City
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
Super 8 Florida City/Homestead
#6 of 12 in Florida City
953 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Miami Homestead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boardwalk RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boardwalk RV Resort

Property: Boardwalk RV Resort
Address: 100 NE 6th Ave, Homestead, FL 33030-6250
Location: United States > Florida > Homestead
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Homestead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boardwalk RV Resort is a gated community comprised of 145 full hookup, back-in RV sites and 165 manufactured home sites. Our RV sites are available for one night to one year & longer- just tell us how long you'd like to stay! We are conveniently located in the heart of Homestead, Florida, gateway to the Florida Keys - the southernmost stretch of the United States. We're a short drive from Miami as well as the first key, Key Largo. We're right next to the Florida Everglades! We offer amazing amenities and boast an array of activities! Our mission is to ensure that our guests have a memorable experience with us! We hope to see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Boardwalk RV Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing