We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip”

Everglades Gator Grill
Ranked #13 of 164 Restaurants in Homestead
Restaurant details
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We drove down to the Everglades for some hiking and saw the Gator Grill along the way and decided to hit it on the way home. It was a GREAT decision. My cheeseburger was outstanding, and my wife's sausage and pepper sandwich was SO GOOD that I ordered one on our next visit - 1 week later. (The entrance fee of Everglades National Park gets you in for a week...)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    68
    33
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
882 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 292 helpful votes
“Great unique lunch near the Everglades”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

There is no place to eat in the Everglades, so Gator Grill serves as an unofficial one just outside the park. There no real indoor seating nor real table service. You order and pick up and eat outside in a palm shaded area just off the road. It also has hammocks to enjoy while you wait. As for the food, I had the Gator basket and it was great, very well prepared. It was tasty, fun and unique, all things you want when you are traveling. I would highly recommend this stop. It would be good for kids and adults with many traditional lunch options. However be adventurous and get something Gator. You can't do that everywhere, so take advantage here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Grover R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gator Grill is Great!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stumbled upon this great restaurant on the way to the Everglade National Park. What a great place, not fancy, but good sincere home cooked meals. We had gator kabobs which were very good. The owners were just fabulous....

Thanks.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“See you later alligator!”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This little roadside restaurant must be a Godsend to many people headed to the Everglades National Park. I'd seen the good reviews on Tripadvisor, so we headed in. My husband order a burger and it was BIG. I had fish tacos which were delicious. We ate outside and chatted with a local guy who rode his bike to the restaurant which was fun. This gentleman told us that the owner had formerly been a chef at a club, which true or not, was interesting. Sal & Elsa DeVito did travelers from all over a huge favor when they decided to open this restaurant. I'm sure there are people from all over the world who visit the Everglades and are hungry, so thank goodness for Gator Grill.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Extremely poor service”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Wen't there for the food, ended up finding a very cranky owner who had no regard for his costumers. Such a shame because the food was good, but as good as it was it wasn't worth the ill-treatment.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andreina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everglades Gator Grill also viewed

 

Been to Everglades Gator Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing