We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My husband was reluctant but liked it!!”
Review of Fruit & Spice Park

Fruit & Spice Park
Ranked #3 of 37 things to do in Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My husband was reluctant but liked it!!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I read a review on here before traveling to S. Florida. This gentleman said they had a few hours to burn and went to the park which was surprisingly interesting... so... I gave it a shot. My husband, who was very reluctant as he is not a 'foodie', even thought the park was great. I, myself, as a Master Gardener thought is was superb, and admission was very reasonable. Nice!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IllinoisLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    114
    28
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Educational, good festival venue”
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Being from the SW, it was really interesting to see all the tropical fruit trees, try some exotic fruits, and enjoy the cool breeze. It's more park than garden, with plenty if open spaces. We lucked out by going during the Festival Sabor Latino. Plenty of space for music and vendors while allowing the normal tours to go on.

Helpful?
Thank ajdial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis,MN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We were looking to kill some time before heading to the Keys and decided to try this place. It is essentially a large park with tons of exotic plants and fruit trees. It was a good way to spend an hour or two, walking through a bamboo forest and among baobab trees. If you are into gardening or trees, this will be a fun visit.

Although the $8 admission is a little steep, it goes toward the Miami-Dade county park system, so I'm alright with it. You can also eat any fruit you happen to find on the ground, or the staff will sometimes have samples cut up in the front area. Yum!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank carpediemology
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“South Miami Must Visit”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

If you love fruit and spices, go here.

I stumbled on the description of this park in a magazine when visiting Miami. It sounded just like something to do but as I discovered in our visit, it was a fascinating park.

My recommendation is to take the tram ride with the guide (included in admission cost). Our guide had been with the park for over 20 years, was very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. He stopped every hundred feet or so, explained the different trees, fruits, spices, etc and cut some samples. You can get out of the tram and look more closely at items, etc. The park has fruit and spices from all over the world. We had a wonderful time enjoying the sun, learning about the different kinds of fruit and spices.

Admission cost is an amazing low price of $8 per person !

We also had lunch at the onsite restaurant. The restaurant is outside of the actual park so there seemed to be a number of locals there just for the food. Sandwich and salad were very good but the highlights were the mango passion fruit cheesecake and the Key Lime pie.

This is a fascinating area of South Floridan that should not be missed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crkoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Every one likes to find that fascinating place to visit 'off the beaten path'. This isn't it. It's quite a ways off the beaten path, the employees are indifferent, it's expensive ($8 US) There were no trolley tours because a large coach bus dropped off a group that monopolized the trolley. In fact an disinterested employee said that the tour guide for the walking tour had called in sick but a volunteer might do a tour. When I asked where the tour meets she said she didn't know and handed me a map. Only about 10% of the plants seem to have any kind of label, and that was just the botanical name. Interesting placards are placed around the park but they don't always seem relevant to the plants nearby. Too many better things to do in the area than spend a beautiful day in such neglected surroundings.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank NancyW260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fruit & Spice Park also viewed

 

Been to Fruit & Spice Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing