We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great BBQ joint - come hungry!”
Review of Shiver's Bar-B-Q

Shiver's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #1 of 165 Restaurants in Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: American, Grill, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Shiver's BBQ is a family-owned and operated restaurant in Homestead, Fl. It has been serving authentic hickory smoked barbecue for over 50 years! Family generations have grown up eating here. Shiver's specializes in slow smoked meats such as baby back ribs, pork spare ribs, beef ribs, chicken, beef brisket, pork, and more. Many items, such as the pulled pork, have been smoked for 12 hours or more! This process ensures that each bite will be tasty and tender all the way through.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
370 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great BBQ joint - come hungry!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The food is really good and there is a lot of it. The rib combo was worth the visit alone! Arrive early so you can get a seat - there are 5 big picnic tables inside and seating is first come first served and it got pretty busy around noon. Take out is a great option, too. You know a good rib joint when you get home after eating and your shirt smells like the restaurant!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelBoomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    187
    32
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back in Time”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have been going here since a child. Food is ALWAYS excellent and wait staff very hometown friendly. Timing for inside dining is key and wait time for pick up service is fast. It's on the highway and except for being air conditioned - it the same atmosphere as always.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Smells like great BBQ from the moment you walk in the door.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived at 6 for dinner I was a little concerned that the place was empty. That didn't last long, by the time we left it was packed. I had the Brisket, daughter had ribs, and my wife had pulled chicken sandwhich. The sweet sauce was a little too sweet. The homemade sauces were awesome. Out server was born on Detroit but has been here all her life. Great atmosphere and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Barb-b-que at its Best”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We were returning to Miami after a day in the Everglades National Park and happened on this restaurant by accident, and I am so glad we did. It had a country, hometown atmosphere. The staff was friendly and nice. The food was sooo amazing it's hard to put into words. Everyone knows Bikers like BBQ, so I will tell you this place is worth the trip and you will be well satisifed and pleased. So ya'll make sure to stop by and get your belly's full !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classic Old Florida Rib Shack”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Based on previous Tripadvisor reviews, we decided to try Shiver's while we were in Homestead, and I can tell you it exceeded all my expectations. Nothing fancy...sit wherever...picnic stile tables and benches, but quick, friendly service, and phenomenal baby back ribs and pulled pork. Made the visit to Homestead worthwhile, and validated the accuracy of Tripadvisor reviews. A winner!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lorenbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shiver's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing