We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BBQ”
Review of Shiver's Bar-B-Q

Shiver's Bar-B-Q
Ranked #1 of 164 Restaurants in Homestead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: Shiver's BBQ is a family-owned and operated restaurant in Homestead, Fl. It has been serving authentic hickory smoked barbecue for over 50 years! Family generations have grown up eating here. Shiver's specializes in slow smoked meats such as baby back ribs, pork spare ribs, beef ribs, chicken, beef brisket, pork, and more. Many items, such as the pulled pork, have been smoked for 12 hours or more! This process ensures that each bite will be tasty and tender all the way through.
Restaurant details
Description: Shiver's BBQ is a family-owned and operated restaurant in Homestead, Fl. It has been serving authentic hickory smoked barbecue for over 50 years! Family generations have grown up eating here. Shiver's specializes in slow smoked meats such as baby back ribs, pork spare ribs, beef ribs, chicken, beef brisket, pork, and more. Many items, such as the pulled pork, have been smoked for 12 hours or more! This process ensures that each bite will be tasty and tender all the way through.
Homestead, Fl
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best BBQ”
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I have lived in this area for 20 years and first went here a few months ago. They have the best authentic tasting BBQ of anywhere in the Miami area. The service is friendly and quick enough. The atmosphere is family like and the kids love the food. I would eat here every week if i could. You can also order take out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    195
    32
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really good food and friendly service”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We drove 45 minutes back from Everglades National Park to eat at Shivers based on other Trip Advisor reviews. Definitely worth the drive! Would have never gone there if it hadn't been for those great reviews. Don't miss Shivers when you're in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank twoPAtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“GREAT Ribs!”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The babyback ribs were great! Living in The Keys, I miss good BBQ and someone at the hotel I was at recommended this place. It is an old building with picnic style benchs for eating, but nothing matters once you taste the babyback ribs. They were falling off the bone, moist with wonderful flavor. The house sauce is a great blend of tangy and sweet. These were some of the best ribs I have had in a long time.

I ordered a half slab and it was a good size portion. The sides were also very good. I had cole slaw, which had great flavor and seemed homemade. I also had the sweet potatoe souffle. This was a little too sweet for me and would have been better for desert! My only compaint was the green beans I ordered as an extra side. They were obviously canned, bland and flavorless.

At the end of the day, nothing matters when you are looking at those wonderful babyback ribs! I look forward to eating here again next time I am back in the area.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SDT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Highly recommended. Simple place with great food and great service!”
Reviewed April 13, 2012 via mobile

We went since it was late and many other options were closed and since the place already had received several great reviews. It is a simple place, but with genuine Traditional food and outfit. Baby pork ribs and the smoked chicken were great, but the sweet potato souffle earns a special mention. Service was also very kind. If you are nearby this place is definitely worth trying.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adrianelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 6 Contributor
418 reviews
290 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Can't Get Enough Of Their Tender Ribs & Homemade Sides”
Reviewed March 14, 2012

You simply must try Shiver's. It's been around for over 50 and it's a nice, family owned business with tender-as-can-be baby backs. The atmostphere is a comfortable rustic with communal picnic tables and t-shirt clad waitresses so come as you are. The food will make you come back. Try the baby back ribs or the beef brisket - all the meats are good. Their sides are a nice surprise. Lots of choices like green beans, black eyed peas, corn souffle, hush puppies, cole slaw, baked beans...it's a long list. If you like collard greens, order them here. Best I've had. For those with a sweet tooth, you've got to try the banana pudding (old fashioned style with 'nilla wafers!), key lime pie, fruit cobblers and their newest fried cheesecake. Yummo. Prices are super fair, service is usually great - I recommend this place to all my friends. Right off US1, can't miss it.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank southmiamijill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shiver's Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Shiver's Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing