We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
34
7
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
34
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout place to stay fly shop the river stayed nights bighorn canyon great fishing yellowtail ian site boat dam trip tents cwc guide flies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 44 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2019

My buddy and I stayed at Cottonwood camp for a few days while we fished the bighorn. Although we stayed in tents, it was a super nice campground that had a very nice staff. The guides that worked the fly shop gave us a bunch of info about the area and the river, which made the trip that much better. Warm showers, clean water, ice and firewood available. Great time. Thank you CWC, We will be back!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keegonthefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2018

The famous Big Horn River is what brought us here from a posh lodge over on the also famous Madison. Awesome to fish two outstanding rivers, the Elk Horn was flowing high which made the fishing a little more challenging, but the Army Corps and the snow melt determine that. Our guide Ian was the best part of the trip, helped us to catch big trout on super small size 22 dry flies-it was incredible. He even walked our boat to in front of pods of gorging trout so we perfectly cast and catch them, truly above and beyond.

Good place to stay, that won't clean out your bank account.

Room tip: Ask for one of the newer cabins.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TMR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2017

My son and I had a great trip out there this past April. I returned about mid September to tent camp. Very nice sites with shade. Plenty of hot water in the showers and good job for keeping it so clean! Thanks to Phil and Amy for running such a nice place, to Brady for the excellent advice on flies to use and how to fish them and to Ian for his excellent guiding and great company. Thanks too for your excellent service with your drift boats and shuttles. I value this place not only for a nice place to stay and good fishing but for the great people that work there.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritz443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

We are so glad to read that your time was spectacular! Thanks for sharing your great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Ok, I had to use that title. "Excellent" reviews are what got us to Cottonwood Camp, but boy were we disappointed! Yes, the location is absolutely fabulous, just a quick drive to the Three Mile put-in and great location for wade fishing (although this is a bad year with lots of grass and warm water). But the accommodations and practices are less than stellar. We were camping, not staying in the cabins, so these comments apply only to RVing in a site with utilities.

First disappointment: we received guide confirmations for 2 trips with Jim Wilkins, a guide with virtually life-long experience on the Bighorn per his bio on the Cottonwood website. When we arrived, we were told we'd be fishing with a different guide, who turned out to be delightful and a great deal of fun, but didn't have the years of experience we were hoping for on a first experience on this storied river.

Second disappointment: the restroom facilities are in desperate need of renovation. It appears that a fresh coat of paint is on the walls, but the flooring is curling, showers and shower curtains are dingy and the toilet seats are deceptive...what appears to be dirt is actually peeling of the toilet seat covering so that the wood is exposed. How can this be clean???

Third disappointment: Camp policies seem to be based on charging for everything except breathing. We unexpectedly met old friends at the camp who have been visitors for many, many years. According to them, many of their friends with pets have moved to other facilities in the area because Cottonwood now charges per day for a pet in a campsite. Also, Cottonwood doesn't give any discounts for weekly or monthly stays; not the usual practice for RV facilities. We personally experienced this "nickel and diming to death" practice; I asked to call my credit card company on an 800 number (there's no cell service) because my card had been used fraudulently and was told they charge "a flat $3.00" to make an outgoing call. Really?

Fourth disappointment: maybe Cottonwood is short-staffed, but twice a day the office/fly shop/convenience store is closed because staff is doing shuttle service. Annoying if you need something.

We won't be going to Cottonwood again because there are far better alternatives in the area. Sad, because Cottonwood Camp has a great history.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank WENDYandROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

We are sorry to hear that Cottonwood Camp did not meet or exceed your expectations. As you will read from the many other reviews, since our ownership we have worked diligently on repairing and replacing many of the structures and accommodations at our property. While replacing the restrooms is a priority, replacing leaking roofs and a new septic system had to come first. Unfortunately Jim was not able to guide during your stay. For your second day of guiding, you requested the same guide as on day one, so we were shocked to read this too was a disappointment. By the middle of September many of our staff have returned to school which does leave us short-handed and having to close for a couple of hours mid day when most anglers are on the water fishing. While it may be "annoying" to some guests, most realize that you cannot easily find replacement staff in Fort Smith, MT. As the phone charge was a misunderstanding with our front desk staff, feel free to subtract the $3 charge for the phone when you clear the balance on your unpaid account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Phil, Brady and the gang were amazing! Highly recommend this place to anyone experienced or inexperienced. Very very enjoyable experience. All the facilities were very clean and well maintained. A+++ in my book.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank william2045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful couple of days fishing while staying with us. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews