We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
34
7
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
34
7
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews trout place to stay fly shop the river stayed nights bighorn canyon great fishing yellowtail ian site boat dam trip tents cwc guide flies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 44 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2017

My son and I had a great trip out there this past April. I returned about mid September to tent camp. Very nice sites with shade. Plenty of hot water in the showers and good job for keeping it so clean! Thanks to Phil and Amy for running such a nice place, to Brady for the excellent advice on flies to use and how to fish them and to Ian for his excellent guiding and great company. Thanks too for your excellent service with your drift boats and shuttles. I value this place not only for a nice place to stay and good fishing but for the great people that work there.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fritz443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

We are so glad to read that your time was spectacular! Thanks for sharing your great review!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017 via mobile

Ok, I had to use that title. "Excellent" reviews are what got us to Cottonwood Camp, but boy were we disappointed! Yes, the location is absolutely fabulous, just a quick drive to the Three Mile put-in and great location for wade fishing (although this is a bad year with lots of grass and warm water). But the accommodations and practices are less than stellar. We were camping, not staying in the cabins, so these comments apply only to RVing in a site with utilities.

First disappointment: we received guide confirmations for 2 trips with Jim Wilkins, a guide with virtually life-long experience on the Bighorn per his bio on the Cottonwood website. When we arrived, we were told we'd be fishing with a different guide, who turned out to be delightful and a great deal of fun, but didn't have the years of experience we were hoping for on a first experience on this storied river.

Second disappointment: the restroom facilities are in desperate need of renovation. It appears that a fresh coat of paint is on the walls, but the flooring is curling, showers and shower curtains are dingy and the toilet seats are deceptive...what appears to be dirt is actually peeling of the toilet seat covering so that the wood is exposed. How can this be clean???

Third disappointment: Camp policies seem to be based on charging for everything except breathing. We unexpectedly met old friends at the camp who have been visitors for many, many years. According to them, many of their friends with pets have moved to other facilities in the area because Cottonwood now charges per day for a pet in a campsite. Also, Cottonwood doesn't give any discounts for weekly or monthly stays; not the usual practice for RV facilities. We personally experienced this "nickel and diming to death" practice; I asked to call my credit card company on an 800 number (there's no cell service) because my card had been used fraudulently and was told they charge "a flat $3.00" to make an outgoing call. Really?

Fourth disappointment: maybe Cottonwood is short-staffed, but twice a day the office/fly shop/convenience store is closed because staff is doing shuttle service. Annoying if you need something.

We won't be going to Cottonwood again because there are far better alternatives in the area. Sad, because Cottonwood Camp has a great history.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank WENDYandROY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2017

We are sorry to hear that Cottonwood Camp did not meet or exceed your expectations. As you will read from the many other reviews, since our ownership we have worked diligently on repairing and replacing many of the structures and accommodations at our property. While replacing the restrooms is a priority, replacing leaking roofs and a new septic system had to come first. Unfortunately Jim was not able to guide during your stay. For your second day of guiding, you requested the same guide as on day one, so we were shocked to read this too was a disappointment. By the middle of September many of our staff have returned to school which does leave us short-handed and having to close for a couple of hours mid day when most anglers are on the water fishing. While it may be "annoying" to some guests, most realize that you cannot easily find replacement staff in Fort Smith, MT. As the phone charge was a misunderstanding with our front desk staff, feel free to subtract the $3 charge for the phone when you clear the balance on your unpaid account.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile

Phil, Brady and the gang were amazing! Highly recommend this place to anyone experienced or inexperienced. Very very enjoyable experience. All the facilities were very clean and well maintained. A+++ in my book.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank william2045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

We are thrilled that you had a wonderful couple of days fishing while staying with us. Thanks for sharing your thoughts! See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

This was actually the second time staying at Cottonwood Camp. The first time was in April of this year for a couple of days. I should have written my first review then as it was a wonderful place to stay. We did not do any fly fishing those days but did float down the beautiful Bighorn. Last week we were there for five days and it was just the best place. We stayed in the cabin called Small Fry and it was just perfect for my husband and I. We loved that we had a full bath and kitchen and plenty of space to eat and visit with others. It was super clean, linens were fresh and the kitchen was stocked with everything we needed to cook our meals. The staff are just the most wonderful and kind people. The owners, Phil and Amy, were so nice and it was so refreshing to see them around and there for us if we needed anything. Phil is also a terrific fly fishing guide as well. It was our first time fly fishing and Ian was our guide. We couldn't have asked for a better guide. He was patient, personable and friendly and very knowledgeable - everything that made him a great teacher and guide! I highly recommend staying at Cottonwood Camp next time you visit Fort Smith and want to fish on the river!

Room tip: The larger cabins have a back deck and the smaller ones have front decks (still are nice and are quiet for facing the inside of the camp)
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmroxie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you for staying and "playing" with us! It is always such a pleasure to share Cottonwood Camp and the beauty of the river with our guests. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Our group had so much fun fly fishing at Cottonwood Camp! We had Jay for our guide. He was outstanding!!! Very patient with us newbies and very knowledgeable. Highly recommend Cottonwood Camp. Thanks for the great time.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank cinderj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy M, Owner at Cottonwood Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2017

Our guides came back at the end of your trip commenting on how enjoyable you and the entire crew were! Thanks for the comments and for letting Cottonwood Camp be part of your memories! See you next trip!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews