We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort Smith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bighorn River View Lodge and Cabins
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Every year I go out to Fort Smith and stay at Fort Smith Fly Shop. Ellyn and Michael are the owners and they both make you feel right at home. Michael is one of the best guides I ever have experienced. He has taught me so many different techniques that always guarantees me a good catch. Ellyn is just wonderful. From her getting me settled in and making sure all my needs are meet. Her cooking is beyond words. She puts out a huge breakfast and gave me a great lunch each day. Dinner is always fabulous. She cooks up these meals like no one else in the area. The lodging is excellent as well. The cabins are spotless and having a/c and satelite tv makes it so comfortable. You can't go wrong with staying at the Fort Smith Fly Shop and Cabins..if you have not been as of yet, my suggestion is don't wait - pick up the phone and make your reservation - you won't be disappointed.

Cheryl/Massachusetts

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

2nd stay with Ellyn & Michael. Michael BEST guide; knows every fish personally. Food is excellent & bountiful. Rooms comfortable & clean. No complaints from Wife or myself.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

I have fished the Big Horn about once a month from April - August the past couple of years, always staying with Michael and Ellyn at the place. While the Big Horn's fishing can vary some (from 'good' to 'fantastic'!) the hospitality of this little Oasis in Fort Smith never does....it's always the BEST! Excellent food, great guides, clean/comfortable cabins and an effort by both Michael and Ellyn to make sure every guest has a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

This is a great place to stay. The cabins are clean, the food is outstanding and Michael and Ellyn couldn't be better hosts. We have been staying there for years and wouldn't think of going anywhere else. You wake up in the morning to hear the pheasants cackling and look out over a view of the Big Horn Mountains - a view that is breathtaking and hard to duplicate anywhere. I would highly recommend and guarantee you won't be disappointed. The fishing is the best anywhere in the country and the guides are awesome. Whether you're a beginner

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joni57701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

the fishing was second to none. the cabins were clean and comfortable, and you will not go home hungry!

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
2  Thank flyguy51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

The view is awesome very clean cabins. The meals are excellent great comfort food fun host in Michael and Ellyn. The guides there are great and knowledgeable offering many ways to catch fish the Bighorn

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trouttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bighorn River View Lodge and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bighorn River View Lodge and Cabins

Address: 39994 Hwy 313, 1.8 Miles N of FT Smith, Fort Smith, MT 59035 (Formerly Fort Smith Fly Shop And Cabins)
Location: United States > Montana > Fort Smith
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Fort Smith
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a full service lodge on the Bighorn River in Fort Smith, Montana. We provide guided fly fishing on the Bighorn River...fabulous meals and great Cabins! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing