We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Friendly”

Art Museum of Southeast Texas
Ranked #9 of 32 things to do in Beaumont
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in downtown Beaumont, Texas, just beyond the bustling traffic of Interstate 10, people find a Texas-sized surprise whent they visit the Art Museum of Southeast Texas. There's always so much to see with rotating art exhibits, exciting educational activities and fun-filled family events. AMSET's exhibitions focus on 19th through 21st Century American fine and folk art with an emphasis on regionalism. Open Monday-Friday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., Saturday 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Sunday noon to 5 p.m.
Orange, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This place was so nice and the people working there were very friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed going there and looking at all the neat art.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    10
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Lovely little art museum with great ambition”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is a small facility, but very professionally-run. You will not feel as though you've wasted your time on "small town" art. The exhibitions feature a wide mix of contemporary and traditional American paintings, drawings, photography, sculpture and folk art that is in constant change. If you go four times a year, you'll be treated to a different experience. Excellent kids' programming. Free admission, 7 days a week!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Needs more permament exhibits”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had an interesting visit to this small museum in October. We went speficially because of listing in Texas Highways of an exhibit of Texas Expressionists. The day we went was also the day for a major fundraiser for the museum, thus floor was filled with tables, chairs, and other things necessary for a party. The special exhibit was very good. We knew of a number of the artist but also discovered several new ones that we will try to see some of their work in the future. Thankfully only small number of the painting were of bluebonnet art.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DFHENDY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont TX
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in Beaumont”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

If you're ever on IH-10 or cruising in Beaumont, you have to make this museum a "must see." The exhibits change often and there's always something wonderful and unique to see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great time at Family Arts Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We attended the August 2013 Family Arts Day and really enjoyed! There were plenty of art activities for kids to make. A favorite was the "Felix Totems", made out of recycled materials that paralleled the museum's permanent collection by Felix "Fox" Harris. We toured the exhibit so our kids could make the connection to their own art. There was also pie pan print painting, foil animal art, plastic bottle flowers, kaleidoscopes, face painting, and more. Refreshments were served, and plenty of friendly museum volunteers to help answer questions and assist with the art. Gator Country had a presentation so the kids could learn about & touch a small gator, crocodile, snake, & bearded dragon. A fun time and it was free! It's a small museum, yet has enough to make a good hour's experience to see the permanent & visiting exhibits on any other day. Clean restroooms, cafe, gift shop, and accessible to all.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelingforFunTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Museum of Southeast Texas also viewed

Beaumont, Texas Gulf Coast
Beaumont, Texas Gulf Coast
 

Been to Art Museum of Southeast Texas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing