We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Twin Arches is Most Impressive View”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Twin Arches

Twin Arches
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Oneida
Attraction details
Jamestown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Twin Arches is Most Impressive View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

The trail down to the Twin Arches is about .7 miles one way, and rated easy until you get to the steep wooden stairs that descends about 25 feet to below the bluff. The trail continues to descend and wind through very beautiful hardwoods just below the bluff line. When you first see the North Arch, you will gasp in unbelief, and as you approach the arch, the huge sandstone formation is truly amazing. The South Arch is just as impressive, and is only a few hundred yards from the North Arch. The hardest part of the hike is climbing the steps on the return trip. First, you climb 60 or more steps to the top of the arch. The trail then goes along the top of the arch to another more challenging set of steps and you eventually merge with the trail going back to the trailhead.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillBea2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
153 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very Cool Place, Very Unique!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

You may not find another place in the world quite like it, the inspired beauty of this spot is amazing! You have to see the arches in person to get a grasp of their scale, and also to think about how they were actually formed and how long it must have taken. It's an amazing display of the power of nature.

I highly recommend driving to the North parking area and taking the short trail down to the arches, especially if you are not physically up for a long hike from the south side. Any of the park rangers should be able to give you directions to this parking area, the road is gravel all the way and you don't need 4WD, we drove it in a minivan with no problem.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Kentucky
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful hike”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Gorgeous area. Enjoyable hike. My husband, dog and I have a great afternoon exploring the area. There are stairs. Not for someone who has difficulty walking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank akhollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice short trail. Great Arches!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

As others have said, the trail is a bit steep in places but the steps make it very doable if you're in average physical condition. It's only 1.4 miles down and back so no need to carry anything but a water bottle and a camera. My wife and 3 boys and our little chihuahua had a good time, but I gotta say, if you make the drive back to these babies, I'd suggest doing the longer loop to get a little more trail time for your drive time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kerry a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkrange, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Twin arches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a little difficult to get to but worth the effort. Steep climbs and / or steps going in from either direction. Have gone with a group of retirees and all made it fine.

Helpful?
2 Thank Charline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twin Arches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing