We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something wonderful all year”

Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Oneida
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A 90-mile stretch of riverside park through scenic valleys and gorges: great for canoeing and kayaking.
knoxville
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Something wonderful all year”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The fall colors rival the Smokey Mtns, to go to the overlooks when a blanket of snow is on the trees is beautiful, summer brings cool breezes along the river banks. I new this land before it became a national park. It is beautiful. The natural arches, the chimney rocks, devils jump, just to name a few of the things to see in the park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank roo64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    15
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
224 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“NATURAL ARCHES: Best Kept Secret in Tennessee (and KY)!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

By using the book listed below (which can be purchased from Amazon), you have the theme for a wonderful family vacation or couple's vacation. We visit these arches every year. Not all are in Big South Fork. Some are in next-door Pickett State Park and Daniel Boone National Forest. WOW!! You can usually have these arches to yourself because they ARE such a well-kept secret. I highly recommend.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MusicCityHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
221 reviews
210 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Best if you spend a week”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We only had a day, so it was difficult to enjoy this park. The better trails required driving quite a bit to reach the trailhead. We did the shorter (4 mile total) Angel Falls trail and was disappointed in the build-up since Angel Falls wasn't much more than some large rocks in the river. Camping was excellent with big sites, water and electric, and only $11/night with the senior pass. Wish we had more time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy__31589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bokeelia, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a month at this park and were amazed by the abundance of wildlife. The first day we were there, we saw deer, turkey and fox. Unfortunately, we didn't see bears. But that didn't matter as there was so much to see and do. All the rangers were more than helpful. They were friendly, knowledgeable and no one gave us the stinkeye! There were plenty of hiking trails, biking trails and even horse back trails. There was even a swimming pool, volleyball court and playground for kids. The park was mostly empty most of the time. We did see more people on weekends, but you were never overwhelmed by campers. This was August too. We highly recommend this park, the Cumberland Gap area is just incredible. Also the park offered a myriad of events for kids and adults. We can't say enough about it, just go check it out. Great for short term or long term stay. Make sure you see the Twin Arches!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Mountain Biking Paradise”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Being from Cincinnati, we view this our 'home' national park. The Bandy Creek Campground is clean, well spaced with flushing toilets and hot showers. When we stay during the week we are virtually the only campers there thus we have isolation! You can clearly see the Milky Way on a clear night. Hiking trails are great. We go for the mountain biking. They have dramatically improved the markings for mountain biking trails and have increased the number of trails you can bike on. We parked at the head of the Rock Creek Loop and fed into the John Muir Trail. Beautiful, well maintained trail. We also did the Duncan Hallow Loop which we could bike to directly from our campsite in Bandy Creek. It had some serious uphill sections but was well maintained and enjoyable. Finally we hiked around the Rugby area on the Gentleman's Swimming Hole Trail. Good trail along a gorgeous stream.
I highly recommend the BIg South Fork to those who enjoy hiking or mountain biking. There is rarely a crowd here and the park is well kept.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big South Fork National River & Recreation Area also viewed

 

Been to Big South Fork National River & Recreation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing