We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience @ Pioneer Mountain Lodge”

Pioneer Mountain Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisdom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pioneer Mountain Lodge
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Pioneer Mountain Lodge is homey, comfortable, welcoming lodge in Wisdom. My family & I attended a wedding in Wisdom and the lodge was just what we needed. The rooms had all the amenities that we needed to handle all the busyness and chaos of a wedding. My mother in law was in charge of making the wedding cake & the kitchen provided her with just what she needed. With each room having all the comforts of a little apartment, we were all able to be together when we wanted & escape when we needed to. With some unexpected changes with the reception venue, the owner Rachel & her husband went above & beyond opening up their large garage to allow us to have the reception there. The lodge itself is a great place for a family to get together but the warmness & great hospitality that Rachel & her husband gave made this better then any fancy five star hotel. I would recommend the Pioneer Mountain Lodge for a family reunion or just a quiet get away for any couple. Thank you to Rachel & Don for making our experience in Wisdom one my family & I will never forget.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Overley2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 18 of 18 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We've always loved to ski Lost Trail Powder Mountain but we just realized this year that Pioneer Mountain Lodge is available to skiers. Only twenty some miles away from the hill it couldn't be more convenient. The owners, Don and Rachel, are really in the know on the area and offer a very clean establishment. The hot tub was a nice way to wind down after hitting the slopes and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. Our room had a beautiful gas fireplace in the living room and the full sized kitchen was an unexpected surprise. The bathrooms are updated with pine accents and updated fixtures. We will definitely be coming back for our next ski trip. I recommend Pioneer Mountain Lodge to anyone that I meet.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank skittlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Came to Wisdom for an antelope hunt. The Pioneer Mountain Lodge is a 2-story four-plex building. We had unit 4 located street level and had a gas fireplace. Older kitchen with slanting floors, living room with bed (older bed) plus pull-out couch and separate bedroom. Housekeeping service offered every second day of stay. Plush towels, small bathroom. It was fine. Nothing fancy......even though they advertise WIFI service I was unable to locate a signal from the lodge. No cell phone service anywhere in town. You must drive about 5 miles out to get cell reception. The local restaurant and bar does offer WIFI for free with a good signal. They are dog friendly!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a gas fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColoradoSpringermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Pioneer mountain lodge IS the place on Widdom, MT! We were there for a couple of days of fly flishing- very comfortable and Wonderful hosts! It's a very clean, very comfortable place in a real Montana ranch town. Don't miss the Crossings restaurant and the antler Saloon, as well as Hook & Horn. That's it. Minutes from Big Hole Battlefiel.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gdonnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

We had a GREAT time staying here at the Pioneer Mountain Lodge! Don and Rachel Run a very nice place! the first thing we noticed was how nice and CLEAN everything was, from the plush white towels to the spotless kitchens! Rachel was a great hostess and made us feel right at home from the minute we pulled in! Our Family will be back again!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larryisgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We are not 4 star hotel kind of guys, if that is what you are looking for then you should not be in Wisdom. We stayed in rm 4 which has 2 rooms, a bath and kitchen. The heat is a gas fired stove with fan, when it is cold (try -6F) the fan can be a little loud but the room is warm and toasty. The rooms were very clean, kitchen was well equipped: we cooked in the room. Free WiFi. They had directv which allowed us to keep track of the cold weather. The owners (Don Wallace and his wife) were really nice, they called us to let us know we had left a laptop charger. This is a basic 4 room establishment, nothing fancy but MUCH better than a motel. We liked it so well we stayed two nights instead of just one (the skiing was excellent).

They had a good deal for Ski and Stay at Lost Trail Pass. We paid 117$ per night including tax for two people, two tickets and the suite. Their rates vary by season.

Wisdom has a small grocery, a bar (the Antler), another Motel, and a restaurant. The town has 110 people. Very Montana small town. We enjoyed the bar conversation at the Antler, met the sherrif, the tech who runs the phone and Internet in town, and several other characters.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter_carnation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pioneer Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Mountain Lodge

Address: 317 Main Street, Wisdom, MT 59761
Location: United States > Montana > Wisdom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Wisdom
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing