We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice trail but not as nice as Santa Elena Canyon trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Window

The Window
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: From the road, this spot offers a spectacular view into the canyon below.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
335 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Nice trail but not as nice as Santa Elena Canyon trail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

As recommended by others, we started the trail from the campsites so it was less to do. The hike is a few hours round trip, hiking is down the whole way and up the whole way back.

This is basically a hike down the watershed of the Chisos Mountains. Every bit of rain in the basin gets drained through this area. It's like a saucer that is tilted to the northeast. All of the creeks were dry, there were some puddles here and there but basically this part of Texas doesn't receive much rain.

There is very little shade at the beginning, you get more shade as you lower into the canyon area. It is quite scenic lower into the canyon area where the creek (now dry) has scoured the rock nice and smooth.

At the end you basically have this sharp dropoff. You can easily just fall because the rocks are slippery so be careful.

Overall a beautiful hike and good introduction to the Chisos Mountains areas but not nearly as good as Santa Elena Canyon. Santa Elena Canyon is an easier hike and gives you much better scenery for your effort.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank crazyAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    48
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great. Worth the hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great view. Worth the hike. Allow about three hours. Hike in is downhill and back out is uphill. Windy in the window. Rocky terrain but not too hard a hike.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank newtovegasTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, England
Level Contributor
182 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Trail to the Window”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

The Window Trail is a straightforward hike. As the park information says you can save some distance and elevation change by starting in the campground rather than up by the Lodge. I was glad I had chosen this option as the day I did it was quite hot and I was glad to get back. Inevitably it is all uphill on the way back. Someone else has mentioned including a side hike up the first part of the Oak Spring trail to see the window from above. I thought that was well worth the extra time though it is steeper and less well defined than the main trail. As ever, wear decent footwear and take lots of water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mumontour08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Easy hike with a nice view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

The window hike is very easy and you get rewarded with a beautiful view at the end. However, I only ranked it with average as the way to the Window View was just ok.
What we did though on our way back was to extend the hike a bit further - following the path up to the oak spring (but just until the path started to decend). The view from above was FANTASTIC and the colours of the stones and the different shapes were amazing.
I highly recommend this short but bit strangerous climb!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint Hills, Kansas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
82 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Big is the correct description”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent two and a half days in Big Bend Nat. Park. That is the minimum I believe anyone would want to spend there to get a good feel for the park. It is vast with a 30 mile drive between most of the major sites. The Santa Elina Canyon , the Chisos Basin, Rio Grande Village, are the main sites. Each is in a distinct different part of the park with a good drive between that is worth while. We did the hike on Grapevine trail which is nice with an interesting view of a large balancing rock.
Also, did the short hikes to Santa Elena Canyon and to the Boquivilla Canyon with the singing Mexican on the other side of he river, as well as the short hike to the Hot Springs. All of these are worth the time.
We stayed at the Chisos mountain lodge. It is well located in the center of the park. We stayed in the Emory Peak group of rooms. They are pretty dated with the walls projecting every sound from adjoining rooms and the bathrooms not very user friendly. The beds were OK, and the location was nice
We also did the Chisos loop trail which was a good intro for the basin area
It is a long drive down there but a good place to get away from winter weather in the north

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank stonestacker52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Window also viewed

Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 
Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to The Window? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing