We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chisos Basin Campground
Nearby Hotels
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Dorado Hotel(Terlingua)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (94)
Filter reviews
94 results
Traveler rating
52
34
7
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
52
34
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrinking waterwindow trailchisos basinrio grande villagecamp hostbear boxtent pegsmilky waybig bendcamp sites areemory peakopen sitesdaytime tempssouth rim trailamazing viewspublic showerspark hosts
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 94 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Big Bend NP in early November 2012 in our VW Vanagon camper. Since the park is so big our original plan had been to camp one night each at Chisos Basin, Cottonwood and Rio Grande Village. When we stopped off at the Panther Junction Visitor Center the friendly ranger told us that Chisos was by far the best campground and since it's in the middle of the park he recommended that we stay there all 3 nights. We decided to take his advice and having subsequently taken a look at the other 2 campgrounds (both OK but nothing special) we were so glad that we took his advice. It's quite a climb up to Chisos Basin but definitely worth it. The views from the campground and the road leading to it are fantastic. We were in site #32 for all 3 nights which was a great spot for a small camper, quite private but still not too far from the bathrooms with beautiful views of the sun setting on the surrounding mountains. Having said that I doubt that there are many if any sites at Chisos that do not have great views.
We were up at Chisos for election night and thought that we would have to remain ignorant about the results until we returned to civilization. Although there is no cell phone service at the campsite it's a short walk up to the restaurant at Chisos Mountain Lodge where one can sit out on the deck with a drink accessing their free WiFi!
Overall a wonderful place to camp , we certainly did not regret staying at Chisos all 3 nights of our visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank julianne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

My friend and I went to Big Bend in late August 2010. We stayed at Chisos Basin campgrounds where temperatures were highs of 88-90F and lows of 65F. The nights are definitely windy and cooler, so be sure to pack accordingly if camping out. The weather was actually nicer than I thought. I was thinking it would be HOT, but it wasn't as bad. Hot months are during May and June.

We drove out to Rio Grande Village to check it out, and even though it's only a 23 mile drive, the temperatures peak an additional 20 degrees, so it was 108F when we got there. The sun is beating down on you! We didn't hike out there, nobody was out there. We just checked it out and drove right back to the "cool" 90 degree weather.

Site #39 (our camp site) is beautiful for sunrises and its a perfect view of Casa Grande. It's also close to the restrooms. Beware of fire ants during the summer. It was difficult setting up the tent with them crawling all over the grounds.

Site #38 floods! It rains pretty often in the evenings at Chisos. After the rain passed, it looked like a lake was covering site #38. It's the closest to the bathroom and is accessible for larger groups, but just remember, it floods!

Site #52 also serves as the entry way to Windows Trail. It is part of the No Generator Zone. Be careful when choosing this spot. There have been numerous amounts of bear sightings at this area.

The bathrooms are okay. It's pretty nitty gritty, so don't expect too much. Since it's the summer, there are a lot of insects out, most of the time mating! It's a site to see! There are a lot of walking sticks, crickets, and spiders. The spiders generally hang out ON the toilet, crawling on the seats, so be careful when sitting down on the toilet seats!

The air is very dry and hot! This dryness can irritate your throat sometimes. This happened to me during my trip. After a long day of hiking, my throat was very sore and dry. I thought the store would have throat meds, but they do not sell any there, so be sure to pack your own!

The Chisos Basin Visitor Center and the Panther Junction Visitor Center are both really interesting. If you have some time, you should stop on in.

We drove from San Antonio to Big Bend. Some tips:
1. There are no gas stations between San Antonio and Fort Stockton, so make sure you top off! There might be one hidden gas station in between, but just be safe than sorry.
2. Top off your gas in Marathon, Texas too. It's the city right before heading into Big Bend. It's about 60-70 miles out of Big Bend, and when you enter Big Bend, it's another 30 miles before you actually enter the camp grounds. There is a gas station at Panther Junction inside the park. Just be careful with running out of gas!

36  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

Stayed in the Chisos Mountains campground in July - a good idea as it is far too hot to stay anywhere else at this time of year. A BEAUTIFUL spot, its cant be described, but there's nowhere else like is on earth. Small camping spots set up with tables, shelter and Bear bins, which are essential as this capsite really is in the middle of nowhere. I reccomend you have plenty of petrol/gas in the car, and plenty of water supplies. We hiked Emory peak which is a long trek, but the views from the top are astounding. Also you are camping in the shade of Casa Grande mountain and right in front of the Window, which is a peak in the mountains, and a beautiful sight - waking up to the sun rising over the Window is something everyone should experience once in a lifetime.
A fantastic place and a lovely, clean campsite, monitored by park rangers often. Look out for small board and skunks (who tried to steal our food!), also a hot spot for bears and mountain lions, although we only heard them. Also plenty of deer and birds of prey for the enthusiasts. GO HERE, YOU WONT REGRET IT! Would go back again tomorrow if I could!

Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
6  Thank enemjay84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

I would highly recommend a "stone cottage", actually it's cinder block. The lodge sits within a bowl, or basin, shaped valley which has an awesome view of the landscape down below as well as a small waterfall. The area has more trees than the surrounding desert. The restaurant staff, food and atmosphere were great. Also, in the area is a store and ranger station. Take the hiking trail to Window View if you want an incredible sight to see, although it is 3 miles round-trip if you have the energy to walk downhill and back up. The night sky was fantastic. My room had a small fridge, coffee maker, clock radio, and microwave. I don't remember seeing a hairdryer. There is no TV. You CANNOT get cellphone reception here. The store sells phone cards. A pay phone is outside the store. There is no gas station here, but there is one at the bottom of the mountain at Panther Junction, 3 miles away. There are campgrounds for trailers and tents in the basin as well. I hope you get a chance to experience it. Also, you don't have to stay the night here to see Chisos Basin.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DallasRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2008

This is a great campground and the only one in the mountains where it is much cooler than the surrounding desert. Site numbers 39 and 52 are the best. Some sites do not have any shade and others are too crowded. #39 is private with a picnic table and a great view of Casa Grande. #52 also has shade and has a great view of the window. The main path for the hike to the Window is beside that site. From what we observed you can arrive early and choose your site. They only reserve about half ahead of time and the other half are first come first serve. If you plan on staying a few days you can scout out your perfect location and then move. We saw deer and javelina in the campground and birds of every color. The Lodge is very close and has a great restaurant that is not expensive at all with very good food. The only drawback of the campground is that there are no showers. The nearest showers are in Rio Grande Village and it costs $1.50 for a five mintute shower.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank gregntommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews