We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short hike worth doing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boquillas Canyon

Boquillas Canyon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Borders the eastern edge of Big Bend National Park.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A short hike worth doing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

A great view from the rim of the Rio Grande river. Some old mining history here and strange holes in the rocks on the trail. Don't buy the trinkets, though.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    46
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Hot, dusty and Singing Mexican”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

I hiked this trail back in August of 2011 so I am almost a year late in this review. This was a bit of a weird trail for a tourist like me from Alaska. It was amazingly hot and I have to say that I wasn't too impressed with the Rio Grande River which was pretty dirty as I hopped into Mexico and back for jollies. My feet got scrubbed very clean that night. Trail-head had some Mexican stuff you can buy, pick, drop money type of deal. Folks from across the border on horsebacks come by to pick it up anything money. In fact there are a lot of folks from across the borders on horsebacks and to be honest, I felt uneasily leaving my rental parked at the trail-head even although there wasn't anything to steal inside. Then you had your "Singing Mexican" who serenade you from across the border. I am not sure if he is there now but he sang out a tune for me and my friend. But his friend with a canoe obviously expects some sort of donation which was firmly refused by me.

Overall, I found the trail relatively physically unremarkable. In that, it not what you may called a "beautiful hike". Outside of the Mexicans entertaining us, it was rather a humdrum hike.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank SirHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Access to the Rio Grande”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

Another nice walking opportunity for those who can only do short hikes in the park,

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank windsorwand31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California, USA
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Unusual Views of the US and Mexico & Immigration”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Border Patrol all around as the Rio Grande border is closed. Saw Boquillas, Mexico and the horses and Mexicans hoping we would walk across the Rio Grande to ride their horses-an illegal activity! The Rio Grande is almost dried up here.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wileygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Ontario
Level Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Lovely view from the overlook”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We drove to the Boquillas Canyon overlook. Lovely view of the river. The whole park is breathtaking. It's not a pretty park, but it is beautiful.

Helpful?
Thank Campfiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boquillas Canyon also viewed

Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 
Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to Boquillas Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing