We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Bend: Chisos Mountains” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chisos Mountains

Chisos Mountains
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great spot for the outdoors-lover in Big Bend National Park.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Big Bend: Chisos Mountains”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

This is a really nice place to visit and camp, if you enjoy remote mountain areas that are relatively easy to access (once you finally arrive). The Chisos Mountains of Big Bend is a wonderful cornucopia of interesting facts, overlooks, vantage points and points of interests. The climate is refreshingly mild during the Spring and most of the Summer. Unlike the Rio Grande Village area, it has a feeling of an oasis versus a desert landscape. The plant life is beautiful and quite different in certain spots. This is a really good area to camp; but, you've gotta book early... It's a nice place to take family (especially if they enjoy real-world nature) and can be a nice get-away for a couple. Also, nice lodge accommodations, must book early. Please note: This is definitely a remote and arid area, so please be aware of the various rules in place that govern a campsite. Also, please, please, please have all parties travelling to Big Bend Park to carry their drivers license, passport and/ or visa documents. All vehicles are checked by the border patrol. Have fun and enjoy the great outdoors!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank james309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    21
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
330 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Must see national park !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

My wife and i toured around Big Bend National park and the Chisos mountains this May and wow what a park. The scenery is truly stunning and varied and the sunsets are superb. We stayed at the Chisos Mt Lodge which was comfy and the service and food were very good.Its a great base for touring around. Lots of wildlife including bears. If you get the chance go there, you will not be disappointed.

Barry & Nicola

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry and Nicol... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What an inspiring place to stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

We spent 3 energizing and relaxing days and nights at Chisos Mountain Lodge in mid April this year. We loved the place from the very beginning of the 10 mile rugged drive into the 'basin' where the motel style accomodations are located. We found our Rio Grande Motel room clean, spacious,comfortable and it soon felt homely to us. The rooms don't have a television, wi-fi or a mobile/cell signal but this felt like a bonus in this 'truly away from it all' getaway destination. For those in dire need of contact with the outside world there were pay phones nearby and
wi-fi and tv were available at the Lodge.Dinner there, as the sun set provided a beautiful view of 'the window' to gaze upon as we re-fuelled following our days adventure within the National Park.
We took in and admired the amazing scenery as we walked a couple of the shorter trails and did some of the scenic drives. The Ross Maxwell Scenic Drive, which concludes with a short though energetic trail into Santa Elena Canyon is definitely not to be missed; get your camera at the ready!
We particularly enjoyed sitting out on our porch in the evening with a fantastic view of the clear night skies. The amazing clarity of the stars is due to there being no light polution from anywhere for miles and miles around. We thought ourselves fortunate to see deer and a fox just feet from our porch bench.
The National Park staff we encountered throughout the park were all helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.When the time came we were sad to leave this amazingly interesting and inspiring place; in the middle of the mountains...in the middle of the desert...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DenWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great week of Camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

Chisos campground was an ideal spot for the week. The temprature in late April ranged from mid to high 80's in the day to about 58 in the evening, very comfortable.
This was a very central location for hikes to the window, lost mine, and emory peak. Bathrooms were readily available, however showers are 40 minutes away via vehicle, but it is camping, not humid so you can do without.
The staff is very friendly. I highly encourgage attending the evening presentations at the the ampitheather, I enjoyed the discussion regarding the Texas Rangers, wish I could recall the fellow who presented as he was awesome.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank fireantstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“couldn't stop staring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

simply beautiful.. the scenery was... well amazing...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank jeepsport77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chisos Mountains also viewed

Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 
Big Bend National Park, TX
Big Bend National Park, TX
 

Been to Chisos Mountains? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing