We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accommodations Nestled in a Mountain Basin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chisos Mountains Lodge
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Accommodations Nestled in a Mountain Basin”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

As a part of our trip through the Big Bend National Park and environs, we made reservations to stay here before we started home. It was the right idea, and we plan to come back even though it's maybe 400 miles from our front door. The six-mile drive up to the Basin from Highway 118, offers some of the most impressive scenery in the Park. Once at registration, we were greeted by friendly and helpful folks and given a map to show us where our building "B" was. Our room
was clean, well appointed, and we had an impressive view from our terrace. Surrounded by mountains, it's a geologist's dream. I'm not one of 'em, but my wife and were quickly hooked by
the scenery, the flora, and the birds. It's also bear and mountain lion country, but we didn't see any. The lodge's main building houses registration, a well-stocked gift shop, bar (with the only TV to be found) and a large dining facility with floor to ceiling windows on two sides. While eating, diners are treated to incredible views--and birds refueling on Ocotillo flowers and buds.
Among the other assets, there is a campground and RV park, but there are warnings on the way in that, because of the tight turns, vehicle length is capped at 24 feet. And from the grounds, hikers have trails from which to choose. We recommend Chisos Mountain Lodge, and all it has to offer, to anyone oriented toward nature, incredible scenery, and the outdoors.

Room Tip: From what we could see, it would be hard to find a "bad" room. Motel-type buildings "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dysg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    285
    114
    30
    10
See reviews for
171
299
37
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
604 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed in a Casa Grande Lodge room... out the front... a magnificent view over the basin and through the 'window' to the valley below... from the balcony a look through the wooded slopes towards the peaks.

The rooms are clean and big. The bathroom very serviceable. And the bed is comfy.

You can walk to the dining room. And you can walk to the head of about five or six trails.

If you're staying in a first floor room, you can get some noise if the folks abouve you have heavy feet,

Check out the pix. They say it all.

Room Tip: Pick a second floor room in B or C if you're opting for the Casa Grande Lodge. It'll be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Although it's true that the accommodations are only modest, the location is impossible to beat in this enormous park. What a luxury to simply hike out one morning straight to the top of Emory Peak without getting in a car.

The Roosevelt Cabins are nicely placed away from the main area to provide some relative quiet. My family stayed in Roosevelt Cabin #105 which was perfect for families in that it had a "parents' bedroom" that was completely separate - with a door - from the main room where the 2 other double (queen?) beds were located. I think this would qualify as the only "suite" on the property.

In addition to the kids' beds in the main room, there was a fridge and a microwave so that we didn't live exclusively on "restaurant" food. A small porch for sitting and reading in the stunning setting rounded out the place.

The main negatives are that 105 shares a wall with 104 - some noise maybe (depending on your neighbors) and there was much movement to the Emory rooms going near 105 (they are up a flight of stairs a bit further up the hill). However, there is no choice -- if you want the "suite", I'm pretty sure 105 is it - and what a treat in that location.

Room Tip: Roosevelt Cabin #105 has a parents' bedroom (with a door) completely separating you from the kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

As far as Park accommodations go, the Chisos Mountain Lodge is great. Stayed in a Casa Grande room -- motel-type room with no-frills, but clean, decent size, and a bathroom/balcony.

You can't overlook the rest of what the Lodge has to offer. First, the location in the Chisos Basin is absolutely gorgeous. The convenience of having some great trailheads outside your door is great. The restaurant/bar is more than adequate for a couple nights (they'll even make you a packed lunch for the next day). The Basin also has a NPS Visitors Center and general store. The WiFi was reliable for our entire four-day stay (but don't expect cell coverage).

Overall, the Lodge is a great stay. The alternative is to stay outside the park and trek in every day, which wasn't very appealing to us. I'd return to the Lodge in a second. Just keep your expectations for the room in check (don't expect the Four Seasons) and you'll enjoy it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dirtdog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Yes, it is a basic, clean room...that's what you get in a national park. You are in the middle of beautiful scenery and great hiking. It is this nice, clean room with a shower or camping. I'll take this any day over a tent. Enjoyed every minute of it. Nice restaurant and convenience store there too.

Room Tip: Get a second floor room if you like to sleep in. Many people hit the trails by 7 or 7:30am to beat t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston59_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The room was comfortable, and the furniture was somewhat distinct from the usual "motel standard." True, no TV (though you could rent one) or cell service, but that was actually a plus.
The only drawback was that we were on the ground floor of a two-story accommodation; the upstairs guest was up at 6:00 every morning, tromping back and forth for a good hour. Since it didn't get light until 8:00, that was an unwelcome distraction.
However, the scenery in the Chisos Basin is spectacular, and there are numerous hiking trails of varying lengths to accommodate almost any desired level of activity. Since it was early April there were numerous wildflowers in bloom, which added to our enjoyment of the vist.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kschwerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

I debated whether or not to rate this a 3 or a 4. The setting is magnificent. The lodging just adequate. Luckily, it was very clean--yes, we could smell the bleach. I don't know if it had cell phone service--maybe for certain carriers. The wifi was spotty, but kind of worked. Even though we lucked out and had a main floor room, there were still a lot of stairs between it and the parking lot. If stairs are an issue, be careful what room you get.

At the end of the day, the National Park Service should probably demolish the lodge and build something as beautiful and tasteful as the rest of the park--yes, and charge more. At least you would feel you were getting an outstanding experience for the money.

I did appreciate the convenience of the lodging, but wouldn't want to stay for more than a night.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank almostelderlycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bend National Park
18.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#6 of 8 in Terlingua
210 reviews
19.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
93 reviews
28.8 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajitas
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chisos Mountains Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisos Mountains Lodge

Property: Chisos Mountains Lodge
Address: Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Big Bend National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chisos Mountains Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the last frontier of Texas, Big Bend National Park encompasses over 800,000 acres of breathtaking desert landscape. Here you'll find the uniquely located Chisos Mountains Lodge, offering comfortable accommodations and friendly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chisos Mountains Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisos Mountain Hotel Big Bend National Park
Chisos Mountain Lodge
Chisos Mountains Lodge Big Bend National Park, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing