We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Restful, Quiet Weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chisos Mountains Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chisos Mountains Lodge
Kilgore, Texas
Level Contributor
272 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Restful, Quiet Weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you are wanting to get away from the world and just enjoy God's beautiful creations this is the place to go. Secluded high up in the mountains is this rustic place that gives you a chance to relax or hike and enjoy nature at its best. The staff at the lodge are friendly and anxious to help. The room was clean and comfortable, nothing fancy. Cannot say enough about the food in the restaurant, it was fantastic. We expected fast food sort of stuff and instead found fabulous meals at affordable prices. The country store was stocked well and friendly staff. We especially enjoyed being able to watch the sunsets and sunrises at the overlook. It seems like you are just right next to the stars and clouds. It was fantastic.

Room Tip: Be sure and stay in one of the units with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunni014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    276
    108
    29
    10
See reviews for
167
284
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marshalltown, Iowa
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We've been to many national parks, and this one has been the best experience by far. The Lodge accomodations were very nice. The bed was comfortable, The room was clean, the housekeeping service was good, and even the housekeeper struck up a conversation and gave us some sightseeing tips. The restaurant on-site serves good food and the wait staff is friendly. The Lodge is located in the center of the park, making it very easy to get to all points in the park, and a number of trailheads start right behind the lodge as well, making evening walks possible. The sunsets are spectacular every night, and on a clear night one can see many stars. The area is very remote. There is no TV, no cell phones, no land line phones, but they do have wireless Internet.

As compared to other national parks, this one is not crowded, but just as interesting. Staying at the Lodge makes all of it readily accessible. It's pretty apparent to us that the entire staff here is trained to make your stay a pleasant one, and they succeeded.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had a double down by the trailheads. It was July and cool every morning. From Chisos min we were centrally located ad went North, East and West to experience the park. We entered from I-10/Alpine and left through Marathon/US90. The views from the Basin are wonderful, and there are enough trails close by you don't really need to explore the whole park if your so inclined.

The rooms are very clean and recently renovated. The restaurant is surprisingly good with a lot of variety from steaks, to pastas, to hamburgers and salads.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

The rooms we stayed in were the older part of the hotel/motel units. Concrete block construction, but nicely appointed with clean bathrooms and beds. Biggest positive is location that is in center of the Basin and close to main Chisos Mountians trailhead. Restaurant is right next door and the small store is nearby as well. Rates somewhat high but if you want to be in the center of the park and lose to everything, its the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

After 25 years, I caved into my wife's request and agrees to go to Big Bend National Park with the kids. Got incredibly lucky and fell into a late cancellation for a 2 BR cottage. Just a phenomenal experience. Our neighbors saw a black bear at sunset. Gray fox would swing by our porch every morning for a sip of water.

Here is the scoop on the cottages for families. They are rustic. No AC. They are 80+ years old. We went in late June and we were very comfortable at night with cool mountain air and fans. Bathroom was not a Ritz Carlton polished marble. In fact, the shower and sink had seen better days and could stand some refreshing.

My wife and I were undecided about whether we would book cottage again or get adjoins hotel rooms at main lodge buildings. She preferred the privacy of cottage and historical charm. I was thinking it would be nice to be closer to Lodge restaurant and store. My 10 and 12 year old expressed a strong desire for AC.

Location was just outstanding. Incredible to be in the center of the park. I think our cottage was $159 a night for 2 BRs with 3 double beds. Awesome value. Restaurant prepared solid food at a old price. There is a store in the complex that sells just about everything you could need for a Big Bend vacation

Room Tip: Cottages on south side have an amazing sunset from back patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kennethsoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We rode our motorcycles in from Alpine (approx. 100 miles / about 2 hours); then drove on several of the winding roads (28 miles) through to Chisos Mountain Lodge.
For M/C riders remember to gas up in Alpine and then top off your tank at Marathon (Exxon station east of town). Also suggest to purchase any last minutes snacks, etc. in Marathon. There is a gas station in the park as well.

We arrived at Rio Grande Village/Chisos Mountain Lodge around 3pm. Check-in was easy. Our room was a fairly nice size w/in in room microwave. A nice balcony w/chairs facing the mountain side. We liked the balcony because you could sit outside and enjoy the peace and quiet. Birds would fly by too - perfect way to relax at the end of the day.

We had a real nice dinner at the Lodge's restaurant. The large wall of windows provides a great view of the mountains and if you didn't want to venture outside you could enjoy the colors from the sunset while dining.
We opted like many others to wander out to the walking path near the lodge to see "The Window's sunset -- very impressive.

We left BBNP and headed towards Santa Etena Canyon Trail for an easy / moderate hike which had some nice views. Then on to Terlingua (the Ghostown) which is a pretty (and sparse) ride. We ate at the High Sierra Bar & Grill in Terlingua that served up a cold one and a very good burger.

Glad to have made the BBNP trip. We actually visited in early April 2012, before the temperatures got extremely hot.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall great stay. Nice rooms, balcony is great with a nice view of the surrounding mountains. Also there is a restaurant within walking distance that has good food along with a convenient store. What else could you need? TV? well you can rent one of those but there is no cable. However there is free wifi so just watch tv on the internet like you do at home probably anyways :)

Room Tip: building c has wifi coverage. some of the others do not or so ive heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXANDER G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bend National Park
18.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#4 of 8 in Terlingua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
19.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#3 of 8 in Terlingua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
28.8 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 2 in Lajitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chisos Mountains Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisos Mountains Lodge

Property: Chisos Mountains Lodge
Address: Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Big Bend National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Chisos Mountains Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the last frontier of Texas, Big Bend National Park encompasses over 800,000 acres of breathtaking desert landscape. Here you'll find the uniquely located Chisos Mountains Lodge, offering comfortable accommodations and friendly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chisos Mountain Hotel Big Bend National Park
Chisos Mountain Lodge
Chisos Mountains Lodge Big Bend National Park, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing