We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roosevelt Cottages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chisos Mountains Lodge
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in the Roosevelt Cottages, Rooms 101, 102 and 103. Awesome! We have gone to Big Bend Natl Park for 20 years now on a yearly basis. A few times we have stayed in the Casa Grande Lodge when we went on the spur of the moment. However, our yearly planned trip with 3 others is always booked well in advance so we can get our desired rooms. They are furnished with 3 beds, microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot. Bathrooms are very small but clean. Water pressure can be iffy. Main room is very spacious. Beds are comfortable. Rooms are always clean. The rooms are not as important to us as the view and just seeing all the different areas of the park and talking with the different people. Food at the Chisos Restaurant is always good and reasonably priced. The wait staff is super nice and friendly. The reception area is very nice and Kudos to Linda and Dick who work the desk. They are just exceptionally wonderful and we love talking with them each time we visit. Definitely the place to stay if you want to see the park. this time we saw mule deer, tarantulas, javelinas and bunnys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jackie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (689)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 689 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Chisos Mountain Lodge is the only hotel inside Big Bend National Park. It is perched atop the Chisos Mountains facing west and offers spectacular sunset and mountain views. The lodge itself is older and a bit rustic. We had room A3 (Buidling A in the 'case grande' hotel rooms, our room faced the "Window" view west). It was very clean although the bathroom itself was dated. We had a microwave and a mini fridge and we packed insome of our own food. We also brought our own pillows and bath towels since we've read mixed reviews about the accomodations. There was no wi-fi available except in the restuarant/lobby area of the lodge and there are no televisions in the rooms. AT&T does not work in the area for cell coverage. I would recommend staying at the lodge, it is a part of the US that most people don't visit and it is simply stunning. I enjoyed waking up on top of the mountain. It was a wonderful, central location to stay for exploring all that Big Bend has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "A" building of the Case Grande section have the best views. Try to get a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stinkypig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I was expecting the worst from trip advisor reports of bed bugs being found by other people who had stayed there.
Thankfully the room we were given upstairs, at the end overlooking the window in the mountains was very clean, without any smell at all, a very nice room indeed. AC worked perfectly and being able to sit ourside on the balcony in the evening was lovely.
The price is high, but can somewhat be justified by the location.
Wi-Fi was almost nonexistant in the motel room. but was ok in the main HQ building.

DO NOT do as I did and book through the national park phone number, they charge a hefty booking fee. I rang this number as the motel front desk number wasn't answered on several tries.

The only down was it was mainly staffed by people who had a poor grasp of English and we had trouble understanding each other !!

Room Tip: Upstairs was a couple of $$ dearer but was worth it for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidSB66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Had a wonderful long weekend here. the temperatures are about 15-20* cooler that down in the desert. the rooms are very clean, staff very cheerful and the food in the restaurant was good. I will definitively be back in the spring. the only thing I would say is watch the rooms not all have AC and WIFI is available but not in many of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcomputerguy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We visit Big Bend (almost) annually with friends for hiking, relaxing and enjoying the outdoors. We've stayed outside the park on occasion, but you can't beat this lodge for comfort, convenience and completing the park experience. Rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed. If you are lucky, you'll get a view of the Casa Grande peak from your front porch -- to say nothing of the deer and other wildlife that roam free.

Room Tip: Visit the park off-season as we do and you'll avoid the crowds that descend during Spring Break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Well -- the question is, do you want to stay in a lodging within the confines of Big Bend National Park? If the answer is yes, this is your place to stay. Fortunately, it's a fine place to stay. There's no more beautiful setting for a lodge I can think of than along the slopes of this canyon. The views are best experienced in the 'motel-style' rooms than those with balconies. Plus, some of the former have mild access to wireless courtesy the lodge.

Downsides: My room wasn't, shall we say, airtight; I had to fight off a cricket that crawled in under the door. It's a tougher battle than you think. Also, a dead cricket fell from the fan while I was taking a shower. Grody. Also, you don't get a complimentary breakfast with your stay. But the setting definitely makes the stay worthwhile, so: four stars.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed here in April 2011 for a few nights. We had a standard room but with a nice balcony overlooking the mountains and sunset! The rooms are standard but clean and big enough, everything worked fine. The food is ok as well, especially the breakfast. And the views from the restaurants are fantastic as well. The people here are friendly and helpful. There are several trails starting at or near the Chisos Mountain Lodge, although one wasn't open at the time because of the drought. There are many others nearby otherwise, just a short drive away. It is one of the most scenic parts of the park and would definately stay here again. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelBurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bend National Park
18.9 mi away
El Dorado Hotel
El Dorado Hotel
#5 of 8 in Terlingua
222 reviews
13.8 mi away
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
Terlingua Ranch Lodge
#1 of 8 in Terlingua
81 reviews
19.4 mi away
La Posada Milagro
La Posada Milagro
#2 of 8 in Terlingua
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.8 mi away
Lajitas Golf Resort
Lajitas Golf Resort
#1 of 1 in Lajitas
736 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Chisos Mountains Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chisos Mountains Lodge

Address: Basin Rural Station, Big Bend National Park, TX 79834
Location: United States > Texas > Big Bend National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Big Bend National Park
Price Range: $216 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chisos Mountains Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Known as the last frontier of Texas, Big Bend National Park encompasses over 800,000 acres of breathtaking desert landscape. Here you'll find the uniquely located Chisos Mountains Lodge, offering comfortable accommodations and friendly Texas hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chisos Mountains Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chisos Mountain Hotel Big Bend National Park
Chisos Mountain Lodge
Chisos Mountains Lodge Big Bend National Park, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing