We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dredge No.7 Inn
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Nome
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (98)
Filter reviews
98 results
Traveler rating
68
16
7
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
68
16
7
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homethe ownerplace to staycommons areasluice boxseveral timescomfortable bedsblackout shadesgold miningquiet placegold rushbirding groupthree nightsjudyvehiclemiletown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 98 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have experienced all of the lodging options in Nome and none can compare to the Dredge #7. It would be a great place to stay in any other location as well.

Judy, the owner, is one of the most genuinely thoughtful people I have ever met, in or out of the hotel business. She goes out her way to make your stay more comfortable. I can't say enough about her or the Inn that she has built...even if it makes it more difficult to get a reservation :)

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cliffton_west
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I travel to Nome occasionally for work and have found this to be the best place to stay if you want peace and quiet. It is far from the loud bars and town for that matter. It is within a long walk of town if the weather is decent, and if not the taxis will pick up at this location for a larger fee than those right in town. The accommodations were clean and nice and you have access to a full kitchen and living room (shared with other guests).

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I recently spent nine days at the Dredge 7 Inn. It was a wonderful experience, with a great room and local flair! The jeeps are an added bonus! I wouldn't stay anywhere else, as Doug and Judy are the most gracious hosts ever!!! Kim

Room Tip: The Pioneer room is the best!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have stayed at Dredge 7 several times and have always been happy with the experience. The setting is unique, clean and friendly. The rooms are well cared for and accommodations are very comfortable with good internet service and a even a small fridge in every room. Fellow guests have always been nice and courteous. Thank you Dredge 7! Bill G

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alaska339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Dredge No. 7 Inn in Nome describes itself as a "new state-of-the-art lodging . . . with historical turn of the century ambiance." Physically, this is a fair description. We stayed in the Pioneer Suite for three nights; this is one of the suites that share a commons area. Our room was small (the private bathroom was across the hall), but the shared commons was large, comfortable, and had a complete, well-appointed kitchen. (The guests in the other room that shares the commons area were able to cook a large, celebratory dinner for ten or twelve without problems.) The wifi is temperamental, but we found that a neighbor's wifi worked just fine. We preferred to buy food (the AC Value Center nearby is well-stocked) and cook breakfast and lunch for ourselves (each room has its own refrigerator) , and the inn was well set up for that. The inn is 5/8 mile from the Nome city limits, but it is about another 3/4 mile to the one and only commercial street in town. It's about a 30 minute walk; ok in good weather for the fit, but not a welcome thought in the dark or for the not-so-fit. We did not reserve a car when we made our room reservation. Once we arrived and realized that we would like a car for one day of our stay, the web site for the inn had no facility for reserving a car apart from making a room reservation. We ultimately reached Judy by cell phone, and confirmed that a car was available for the day we wanted. When that day arrived, however, no one was available to deliver the car, handle paperwork, etc. We had left both phone messages and email messages on the previous day, and the morning of the day in question, but received no response. We finally saw a man outside getting into a car, ran after him, and explained the situation. This turned out to be Mr. Martinson, the co-owner, who was apologetic and helpful, and who gave us the car and keys on the understanding that we would straighten out the paperwork later in the day. He explained that Judy was out of town running the weigh scales at an urgent road repair site (no cellphone service there). Given the state of the Nome economy (very depressed), and the cost of living there (very high), it would be surprising to find a full-time innkeeper in an establishment this small. However, since it is eminently foreseeable that inn guests will have questions, last-minute needs, etc., the inn needs to have a better backup system for communications. Had we not tracked down Mr. Martinson by chance, we would have had no car although we had been promised one. Aside from our one sighting of Mr. Martinson, we had no personal contact with the management. Information about our room was left on a bulletin board at the entrance, our car rental papers were left on the bed for us to sign and return to a drop box, and our invoice was also left in the room, with an explanation that all billing was handled online; if we had wanted to change credit cards, we could have done so, but only via an email exchange. Nevertheless, if I return to Nome I will call Dredge No. 7 Inn first. The alternatives -- Nugget Inn, Aurora Inn, and Polaris Hotel -- all have serious drawbacks. If you are a self-sufficient guest, Dredge No. 7 is clean, comfortable, and well-equipped. With respect to restaurant meals, the Bering Sea restaurant was our clear first choice. Its menu is Japanese-American, it was quite clean, and it served good simply-cooked food without pretensions. Its dining room has a great view of the Bering Sea. There is a new bakery/seafood restaurant that is open weekends only; our meal there was very good, but its hours and menu are very restricted. Bering Tea Co., a promising new tea and coffeehouse, has plans to serve meals, but had not yet begun to do so.

Room Tip: Pioneer and Frontier Suites share the commons. If you want to cook your own meals, try to get one of them.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews