We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to California”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Junta
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This the 3rd time that we've stayed at the Holiday Inn and the quality is still very good. The location is easy to get in and out of even towing a trailer. The rooms are clean, beds comfortable, and breakfast is good. ,

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValkyrieKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 126 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

Reading reviews on my mobile, I originally had decided to stop elsewhere. Since that hotel was booked, they recommended I try this one.
So glad I did!
The gal at the desk late at night was exceptionally sweet and friendly, and went out of her way to give us a quieter room (the LaJunta hotels are plagued with rail road tracks- not a darn thing they can do about that).
Rooms were modern, and we slept well- never did hear a train.
Breakfast was good- I was eating late- around 8:30, and the fruit was gone- oh well.
Morning staff was nice too.

Room Tip: The blanket/ throw at the foot of the bed was very useful in putting between the AC and Drapes, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaiyaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed here several times. The beds are great, nice flat screen tv, and a great staff. They were friendly and helpful. I would gladly stay here again. In fact I will be there at the end of the month and this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This motel we stayed in for 10 days and used it for our staging area, the motel was very clean and for all things concidered mostly quiet. The motel sits oppisite the rail road tracks and the trains bloww the horns as they come into town, note all the motels or at least those we saw are along the same tracks so this is the norm. We were working 13 hour days and did not have a lot of time to use all the amenities the hotel offers. The breakfast was good just a little late some mornings( they start at 6:30) the parking lot wasn't that large but seem to be able to accomadate all 10 of our vehicle plus serveral large trucks from the rail road and one tractor trailer, rooms were very clean and the staff was friendy..I marked down this motel due to the following reasons the breakfast was not always ready on time due to a lack of help, the staff person had to set up the breakfast foods and do check outs at the same time, also the motel does not have automated door openers which made it difficult for us hauling in carts of gear each day let alone if a handicap person needed to enter,this should be taken care .

Room Tip: do not stay in room 218, it is next to the exercise room and the people using the equipment make mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TATsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2012

Dear TATsam,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced.

We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

If you're driving east from Pueblo on 50 in early March all you see is brown and more brown. Holiday Inn's green logo is appropriate as it is an oasis - clean - attractive and nicely maintained. It has everything a traveling road warrior or a family would be looking for. Rooms are nice - beds comfortable, large flat screen tv, and of course a very nice breakfast that includes pancakes, sausage, and cinnamon rolls.
I would definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Check the travel sites for 3 star "secret" or "blind" type bookings. Since its t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T_and_M_travels2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Truthfully the Holiday Inn Express La Junta was not my first choice having read the reviews here. But the other options were all sold out.

That said, I am glad they were as this property provided above average accommodations with very easy access on and off of US 50.

As you will see from the photos I have posted the rooms are exceptionally clean and are of a comfortable size.. Certainly not "Small" as some have posted.

As a light sleeper, I was concerned about the train noise (I had read about in other postings) which I might have to endure (particularly since Google Maps shows a rail line very close by). While the tracks are nearby I did not hear a single train during our entire stay.

The staff was welcoming and attentive during our stay and, provided a warm reception to us. They also bent over backwards accommodating a school athletic tour which became stranded at the property when a major winter storm closed down the roads in the area for a period of time.

Breakfast was you standard Holiday Inn Express buffet with a decent selection of both hot and cold food options. While not a "Gourmet" breakfast that is not what one should expect from this chain in general. For the Holiday Inn Express style of breakfast that this chain serves it was very good and served in a clean well stocked area.

This is a hotel I would return to.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnrelax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

Typical neat clean modern hotel with a weird hot tub that they put some strange smelling chemicals into.

But the real deal killer is the fitness center on the second floor. These structures are typical stick construction and when you put a crazy runner on a treadmill on the second floor well it shakes just about everything on the first floor. Boom, boom, boom, boom, boom, boom........

Big mistake to say the least. Can't wait until they lock it out. Bummer.

Room Tip: Not much to choose from here but I will certainly look elsewhere if I have to come to La Junta again...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2012

Dear Redland,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Junta hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn La Junta
Hampton Inn La Junta
#1 of 7 in La Junta
338 reviews
1.4 mi away
Midtown Motel
Midtown Motel
#4 of 7 in La Junta
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 7 in La Junta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel La Junta
Red Lion Hotel La Junta
#6 of 7 in La Junta
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
StageCoach Motel
StageCoach Motel
#2 of 7 in La Junta
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travel Inn of La Junta
Travel Inn of La Junta
#5 of 7 in La Junta
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50

Address: 27994 US Hwy 50 Frontage Road, La Junta, CO 81050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > La Junta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in La Junta
Price Range: $104 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express La Junta, Colorado winner of Quality Excellence Award and Torch Bearer Award, conveniently located on U.S. Highway 50. La Junta, a meeting place where the Koshare Indians join the Boy Scouts at Bent's Old Fort, the Dinosaur Track, and the Sante Fe Trail. Explore wildlife and history at the John Martin Reservoir State Park. Enjoy La Junta area events like the Early Settlers Day,Rocky Ford Balloon Festival, Miss Arkansas Valley, the Colorado State Fair, and many rodeos. The Holiday Inn Express La Junta is a pet friendly hotel. Free high-speed Wi-Fi Internet access, free local phone calls. 24-hour front desk message and FAX service. Business center with computer-printer use, indoor pool & spa, fitness center.Planning a wedding reception, family reunion, graduation party, or other special event? We have the meeting space that you need, Enjoy a unique breakfast experience at our new Express Start hot breakfast bar served every morning featuring a selection of fruits, juices, cereals, breads/pastries, scrambled eggs, omelets, hard-boiled eggs, meat selections, assorted teas, coffee and the world's best tasting cinnamon roll. Visit La Junta, CO and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel. Satisfaction guaranteed. With our can-do attitude and service with a smile, our hospitality team will be sure to exceed your expectations. Committed to excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50 Hotel La Junta
Holiday Inn La Junta
La Junta Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing