We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Reasonable Deal”
Review of Midtown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midtown Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Junta
Reviewed September 14, 2009

The midtown is a classic motel and not fancy. Our room was clean, quiet, and simple. Mangement was friendly and responsive to our needs. The rates were reasonable. A good place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Media_Cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 103 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

My Dad and I stayed at the Mid Town Motel on a recent trip to visit Bent's Old Fort.

The motel is on the main road in La Junta, a block off Route 50 and two blocks from the town center. The motel itself is two stories, shaped like an L that surrounds the parking area. The stairs and walkways were in front of the rooms next to the parking area.

Our room was on the first floor. It was spacious and clean, with two double beds and a love seat that folded out into a twin sleeper. We had no use for the twin sleeper, but the double beds were comfortable, a little on the softer side. The room had window overlooking the parking lot. At its bottom was a narrow window that could be opened for air. A separate air conditioning unit was built into the wall. Adjacent rooms are connected by doors.

The bathroom was split; a shower and toilet in one area, a sink and vanity and closet in another. The shower/toilet was older, but very clean.

While clean and comfortable, the motel was not so quiet. Being on the first floor, we heard all the comings and goings- people walking to and from their rooms, cars and motorcycles entering and exiting the parking lot. The people in the next room were also early risers, and not quiet about it. The noise came right through the cinder block wall, or adjoining door, or both.

I don't know that I will have opportunity to stay at the Mid Town Motel again. I would consider it- but would request a second floor end unit, as I think it would be quieter.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mykal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MidtownMotel, Owner at Midtown Motel, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2009

We're sorry that it wasn't as quiet as we would have ideally liked. However, do visit us again and we will be sure to give you an upper floor unit if you want that. The particular room you were in does have the adjoining doors though. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

Loved this motel! It was away from the noisy highway, run by a friendly family, was in good shape and clean order. A vintage motel with classic charm. We ate a hot breakfast at a downtown cafe, a short drive away.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowin-n-Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2008

After reading reviews on all the motels in the area I chose this one, and it was the right choice. I stayed there four nights. It was clean, quiet and nicely furnished. with a comfortable bed that did not hurt my back and a nice recliner. As others have said, the family running the motel was very friendly and accomodating. I have stayed at other motels in the area in previous trips, but this was the best experience I had.

It isn't a Marriott or Hilton, but for a small town you can't do better, and the upscale motels/hotels will cost you up to five times as much.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank MassaJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

Having stayed at the Holiday Inn Express previously, we read the reviews here and tried the Mid Town Motel (much cheaper) on our last trip down. The owners are extremely nice, accommodating and the motel (while being a bit older) is very clean and well maintained. We enjoyed it and will be returning.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RecVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2008

I really wanted to stay at the Holiday Inn Express, but I stayed at the Midtown instead because it was half the cost, and I'm so glad I did. My family and I stayed there 4 nights and I was really impressed. The rooms were very well kept, and the beds were amazingly comfortalbe. I'll pick this place over the H.I. Express every time.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dave_in_Tulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

We went to see Bent's Old Fort National Historic Site and this (the Mid-Town Motel) is where we stayed. We're opting more often for clean, well-maintained refurbished motor courts and this one proved an excellent choice. The pride of ownership is evident and we would stay there again. It's also right near the local police station, so it's definitely secure.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nmboxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Junta hotels
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn La Junta
Hampton Inn La Junta
#1 of 7 in La Junta
347 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel La Junta
Red Lion Hotel La Junta
#6 of 7 in La Junta
90 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 7 in La Junta
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50
0.8 mi away
StageCoach Motel
StageCoach Motel
#3 of 7 in La Junta
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travel Inn of La Junta
Travel Inn of La Junta
#5 of 7 in La Junta
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Motel

Address: 215 E 3rd St, La Junta, CO 81050-1659
Location: United States > Colorado > La Junta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in La Junta
Price Range: $51 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtown Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner 2014 Certificate of Excellence as voted by TripAdvisor and our guests Recommended by Frommer's Travel Guide and Voted La Junta's Best Hotel. Clean, comfortable and courteous. Enjoy a quiet night's sleep at the Midtown. Proud to be the 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner two years in a row. Thanks to our guests for their reviews of our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Midtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Motel La Junta
Midtown Hotel La Junta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing