We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, quiet and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midtown Motel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in La Junta
Greeley, Colorado
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good location, quiet and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Reasonably priced, clean, comfortable. Close to downtown but not far from US Hwy 50. I enjoy this locally owned place as opposed to the chain motels directly on the highway. The motel is 2-story with rooms opening to the outside, overlooking the parking lot.There are a few somewhat larger rooms with king beds and either a sofa or recliner, which is the type of room I have booked each time I've overnighted at the Midtown. My room had somewhat dated wood paneling, but it was still pleasant. The bed and furniture are comfortable and in very good condition. The bath is small and no-frills, but clean and perfectly adequate. There's prompt and plentiful hot water in the tub shower, and towels/linens are of good quality. Rooms have mini-fridge, coffeemaker, microwave, flat-screen TV, and Wi-Fi included (good signal quality). I especially like the location, just a few blocks east of downtown and a couple of blocks from the local Fox Cinema. It's easy to walk down 3rd Street and find something to eat or see a movie, and prices in La Junta are very low compared to what I'm used to. Lucy's Tacos is an excellent taco stand with a wide variety of authentic Mexican food, very close to the motel, and I was surprised to see they're open early, even on Sundays, so that's become my breakfast place of choice. I get a breakfast burrito and take it back to the room. A short drive east on 3rd Street from the motel is Hogs Breath Saloon, a decent local barbecue place. In the relative context of small town eateries, I've found it to be a good choice for dinner. The motel management asks for a lot of information upon checking in. It seems like a bit of overkill, but I roll with it, and the next time I stop there they have the data on file and know which room I prefer.

Room Tip: With a few exceptions the ground floor rooms have parking spaces in front of them. If this makes a d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenmere7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    40
    11
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
26
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed overnight, visiting family. Staff was quite friendly and helpful. Our room was ground floor and near the office and ice machine, but not at all noisy, as I had expected. A lot of pipeline workers are apparently staying here and elsewhere in La Junta, but they were pretty quiet and considerate as they left early in the AM for their shifts, I guess.
The central location is hard to beat. The rooms are simple and practical. This is our second stay, after a four-year lapse, and we would stay here yet again, next time we visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoachRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for one night. The lawn outside the office is neat as a pin. My room was small but adequate, and the amenities were no-frills. The gentleman at the desk was pleasant, but the room had a smell that seemed to indicate they tried hard to cover something, like too much air freshener. As others have noted, the AC is loud, but overall a decent stay. I'd much rather spend my money with a locally owned property than a chain any day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_loco_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed at Midtown for years when we come thru western Colorado. It is clean, simply decorated, and modestly priced. Peaceful and pleasant. Recent remodelling is an added plus. The staff & ownership are friendly & helpful. Flat screen TV with DirectTV, comfy recliner, microwave & mini-refrig, lamps well-placed for reading, very comfortable bed. I never have to worry about whether it is truly clean. I feel very safe here also. We will continue to return to Midtown as one of our favorite motels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vonda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Family owned great little property. Well maintained, friendly staff. Wife and I went up 4th and 5th of July to see Bent's Fort. She is a history buff and the period costumes, performances were superlative. Well worth the time and trip. Room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Plenty of TV available through Directv. Didn't watch much thought because we were there for each other. I am an HVAC tech by living and the AC was great! Has a remote control to operate it. Nice touch. Recliners were comfortable and conducive to reading. Lamps were well placed. Comfortable bed with clean linens two normal sized firm pillows. Noticed room was heated be baseboard hydronic heat (hot water boiler) which is very comfortable heat in this part of the country, not drafty. Makes for a cozy room. I will bring us back here some time this winter. The room doesn't have some of the amenities that all the luxury places throughout the country has like refrigerator, iron, etc but it does have a hair dryer, microwave, ice machines 2 or 3 I think I saw. Nice tub and shower combo with plenty of hot water, and a sink with a large mirror and space around the sink. There was a radio/clock, two nightstands and a long deep shelf next to the sink for suitcases which also doubled as a place to hang up clothes, The whole layout of the room was very convenient. Boss Hogg Saloon and Copper Kitchen great meals!

Room Tip: Upstairs next to the office convenient to ice, parking and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joegano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Needing a place to stay one night while on the road, we picked Midtown Motel after reading the reviews. I'm not sure if I stayed in the same motel that was reviewed, but I was really disappointed. Yes, I knew it was "inexpensive" (total $63.50), so wasn't expecting much, and basically that's what I got. We had asked for a king, but after being told there were none available, we chose a queen room. I doubt very much the bed we had could qualify as a queen, however, it was clean - as was the room in general. The problem came when we decided to go to bed. There are bright lights shining at each door on the outside - good for security - bad for sleeping. The "drapes" were very thin, cheap curtains that did nothing to block out the light. It was basically like trying to sleep with the lights on. I know Wal-Mart sells light blocking curtains for about $10 - that's all it would take to make a BIG difference in someone's night sleep. The other issue we had were the electrical outlets. There were 2 outlets in the room, but each only had 1 plug that worked. There was a power strip on the desk with every plug filled, so it was impossible to charge our phones. The other 1 plug in the working outlet was used for the lamp above the bed. During my many awake hours, I had horrible thoughts of the room exploding into flames from the over-used outlets. I would probably rate this even lower, but as said before, it was clean, however, if a good night's sleep is what you're needing, I would recommend another motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yahoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here while traveling late and on a budget. As with most small-town motels we were skeptical at first. We arrived late with no reservation. The parking lot was full. The front desk clerk (possibly owner) was prompt, friendly, and check in was quick. This is an older style "highway" motel, but the room was very clean. The bed was firm but good. It is not a plush motel by any means, but if you're looking for a economical place to sleep that's clean and free from worries, this will do. The rate was $55+ tax. There are other chain motels in town for twice as much, but this fit the bill quite well.
We gave this an above average because for a small town place, and compared to others, it was a pleasant surprise. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JnR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Junta
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn La Junta
Hampton Inn La Junta
#1 of 6 in La Junta
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in La Junta
3.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.8 mi away
StageCoach Motel
StageCoach Motel
#2 of 6 in La Junta
4.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travel Inn of La Junta
Travel Inn of La Junta
#1 of 1 in La Junta
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express La Junta-Hwy 50
18.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Las Animas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midtown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Motel

Property: Midtown Motel
Address: 215 E 3rd St, La Junta, CO 81050-1659
Location: United States > Colorado > La Junta
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in La Junta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midtown Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner 2014 Certificate of Excellence as voted by TripAdvisor and our guests Recommended by Frommer's Travel Guide and Voted La Junta's Best Hotel. Clean, comfortable and courteous. Enjoy a quiet night's sleep at the Midtown. Proud to be the 2015 Certificate of Excellence winner two years in a row. Thanks to our guests for their reviews of our motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Midtown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Motel La Junta
Midtown Hotel La Junta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing