We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good barbecue”

Boss Hogg's Saloon & Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in La Junta
Cuisines: American, Bar, Grill, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
198 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good barbecue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not everyone has occasion to be in LaJunta, but if you ever are, we can recommend Boss Hogg's. We had dinner there with my 90-year-old mother, who is not much of an eater. We enjoyed our barbecue; she cleaned her plate. Our waiter was friendly and efficient. It was just what we needed that evening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jred922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    41
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Food is Fair”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Salad bar has a small selection. Most of the food is of the fried variety. Food was fair. Ate there for lunch. Arrived at 11:00 am, they were still serving breakfast. Had to wait until 11:30 am to order lunch. Not a lot of restaurant choices that are not fast food variety in La Junta.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasPuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“We just wanted a Drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

You never know what you'll get in a bar! This one was so much fun, We had to leave Our car and walk to the motel! My stomach hurt from laughing so much! There was a guy that did animal noises that was hilarious! His friend did wierd stuff with paper towels and this other lady kept singing opera stuff! This was the three stooges in living color!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank L. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
1 review
“Very dissapointed!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I used to recommend this place to people I know and to clients but after today I will no longer recommend it to anybody I know. The reasons being it took 15 minutes before we got a waitress and the reason why we got one was because we had to ask for one,(it wasn't because they were busy either) the tea smelled like it was made with sewer water we brought it to the attention of one of the servers and they said it was probably from the old batch they were really skimpy on the fries and the fries and our burgers were cold the service and the food is not what it used to be. My family and I will never go back to eat there and I will never recommend it to anyone. If you want good hot food, good & friendly service go somewhere else.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 77Dee77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love their cheeseburger and fries!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I would recommend this place as a GREAT place to get a hearty meal. I LOVE the hand cut fries and cheeseburger. Their ruben sandwich is another menu item I have ordered and it's good too! The waitress's are very attentive, but the owner is not very friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovesdrafthorses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Hogg's Saloon & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Boss Hogg's Saloon & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing