We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos
Nearby Hotels
$175
$141
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pueblo Canyon Inn(Los Alamos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WinStay(Los Alamos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
29
41
22
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
41
22
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswafflescookiesfree breakfastwithin walking distancenice roomin townour entire staymany optionschoice hotelsbreakfast offeringshot chocolatewi fistaff was very friendly and helpfulhot breakfasta great place to stayclean roomsnice place
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 115 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Staff: Varied from cold to very friendly.
Breakfast - acceptable choice but since the hotel did not seem to be busy it was cold.
Our ground floor room was fine BUT in the morning we found that although our window (facing the street) appeared to be locked, the lock did not work and anyone could have easily entered the room by sliding the window right over the stopper. We informed the front desk and cleaning staff before we departed.

Our room was close to the laundry room and the hot tub and that was very convenient.

The price was right however - at $85 a night it was very good value. We'd stay here again if we visited Los Alamos.

Room Tip: I'd recommend getting a room on the south side facing the canyon rather than the street on the north side. Noise was not a problem though since the sidewalks are rolled up at 8 pm.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grandriver125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the front, the hotel looks like a 1960's has-been, sharing its parking lot with a gas station. But while the facade hasn't been updated, the rooms apparently have been brought up to date. The room was clean, attractively decorated and in good condition. There was a small enclosed closet, basin in the room, refrigerator and microwave, desk, sofa type chair. Climate control draws air from outside. Window opens. Rooms facing the back of the hotel had no traffic noise. Bed was comfortable. Analog t.v. Room size was average. Apparently this hotel was designed before breakfast was included with the room rate. The breakfast area had been carved out of the lobby, and was woefully inadequate, with just 4 tables. The breakfast offerings were typical, but due to the small amount of space available, there was extreme congestion in the area--not a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Avoid odd-number rooms which face the highway. Even numbered rooms don't have any road noise.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mountainoutin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Comfort Inn & Suites Los Alamos is a decent hotel for a short stay. We stayed a couple of nights and it served its purpose for sleeping and showers. No frills.

The lobby/front desk/breakfast bar area is welcoming. They offer fresh popcorn, snack mix, mints and cookies throughout the day. Front desk staff varied throughout our stay, some were more welcoming/caring than others. One was particularly dry and didn't seem like she wanted to be there during the few shifts she worked during our stay. Check out was simple.

The hotel does not have a pool, but they do have a hot tub, which we didn't use. It looked small and very clinical. Several members of the family attempted to use the treadmill in the workout room with some difficulty. Operation varied from not working at all, to having issues getting the buttons for speed and incline to work.

We had a room on the third floor. The elevator is a bit old and quite slow, but it does work. The third floor hallway was like a sauna...the heat was suffocating, but when we got into our room, the AC worked like a champ. The room was clean and comfortable. We were missing a blanket on one of the beds, and the toilet paper was almost empty, with not a spare roll in sight, but both were easily remedied. A microwave and a small fridge were available and both worked properly. The tv was an older model, but we weren't expecting luxury for the price of the room. We were not at all impressed with the "high speed internet". In fact, it was slower than an old dial up connection. So much so, that loading a video or trying to play a game online was not going to happen in the room.

The complimentary breakfasts were great. They had everything...yogurt, hard boiled eggs, pastries, toast, eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage, cereal, oatmeal, oj, coffee and the standard waffle maker. Although, the waffle maker didn't really work. Everyone who tried to make a waffle both mornings ended up with "waffle chips." It was actually quite entertaining watching everyone band together to give tips to see whose advice would actually bear a true waffle...but it never did happen.

All in all, the hotel was okay. Nothing bad or overly great to write home about. If you have never visited Los Alamos, I wouldn't say to expect much. Everything closes early...by about 8pm, with the exception of Sonic, McDonald's and a local Chinese restaurant.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms were quiet, and we were on the front of the hotel facing Trinity.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JOnAPlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We wanted a room within walking distance to downtown Los Alamos and selected the Comfort Inn. It was a very clean and comfortable room with good TV selections. We had a third floor room with a nice view of the mesa in the back (views in the front are of the parking lot)

The breakfast was above averaage with scrambled or hard boiled eggs, biscuits and gravy, yogurt as well as the normal cereal and bread selections. There's a indoor pool/spa but we didn't use it.

It was walking distance to the historic museum and the Bradbury museum.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank JuniperToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I make it a habit at staying at Comfort inns, they are well run, clean and friendly, as was this one. The staff was great and it is close to the National Lab, and to eating establishments. The only downside was a noisy air conditioner in the room, other than that it was very nice!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmad110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews