We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small museum about the beginnings of Los Alamos”

Los Alamos Historical Museum
Ranked #5 of 27 things to do in Los Alamos
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
459 reviews
284 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Nice small museum about the beginnings of Los Alamos”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We visited this museum prior to going to the Bradbury Science Museum in order to get an introduction to how Los Alamos became what it is today. The museum is run by the historical society, and admission is free. It is in the former guest house of the Los Alamos Ranch School, and the Fuller Lodge is right next door. You can also pick up a walking tour map for the rest of your trip to Los Alamos. The museum covers the Native American years through the Manhattan Project years. We spent a lot of time reading the displays about the Manhattan Project, which did a great job detailing the culture and people who came to work at Los Alamos when it was a secret city. The information was well presented and interesting. The gift shop was small but also nice, and the lady behind the desk gave us a free poster when we left.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    82
    15
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great small museum on the beginnings of the town of Los Alamos”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We really enjoyed this small museum that began with the geologic history of the area, then went to the era of the ranch school and then how the town looked during the "project" days of WWII.
We went here to kill 30 minutes before the Bradbury Science Museum opened and we are so glad that we did!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Busym0m03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very well done museum”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is about 1 hour from Santa Fe. Worth going to. Very interesting artifacts and film on the making of the atomic bomb. Very informative.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank beverlymc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Great Museum with Excellent Artifacts & Displays”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have visited this museum several times over the past 25 years while on vacation trips and continue to enjoy learning new things during each visit. Highly recommended for those folks who are interested in cultural, military and technological history of the WWII era.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“great little local museum”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This museum is about the local history of Los Alamos, and it's executed beautifully. The building is from the 1920's, and the exhibits give a good explanation of the transition from rural area to boarding school to place where the atomic bomb was developed.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Alamos Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Los Alamos Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing