We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not My Choice for Touring, but Nicely Surprised”

Bradbury Science Museum
Ranked #2 of 27 things to do in Los Alamos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Approximately 60 interactive exhibits trace the history of the WWII Manhattan Project, highlight Los Alamos National Laboratory's current and historic research projects related to defense and technology, and focus on Laboratory research related to energy, environment, infrastructure, health and global security concerns. These exhibits together with extensive educational and community programs draw nearly 80,000 visitors a year. Admission is FREE and open to the public. We are open every day except Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day and New Year's Day. Hours: Tuesday through Saturday: 10:00 AM to 5:00 PM Sunday & Monday: 1:00 PM to 5:00 PM
hudson valley, new york
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not My Choice for Touring, but Nicely Surprised”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I went to this town kicking and screaming - it didn't fit into my idea of a romantic vacation. But I was pleasantly surprised by this quality museum. It was well done and provided lots of generic information about plutonium and uranium.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelbunnyhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    194
    40
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Well Worth While”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We found this museum very interesting. There are three main galleries, History, Defense, and Research. It was interesting in that on day we visited, a national newspaper had stated that our "Aging US nuclear arsenal set for multibillion-dollar revamp". Los Alamos will be a big part of that revamp. The details, of the secrecy of the Manhattan Project, and the town that never was, were fascinating.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Miatatraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Hadlock, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“See a replica of the first Atom bomb!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Don't like Museums, but this one was worth the visit! Lots of "hands on" things to do and lots of different sections with great displays.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Museum!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband was the one who wanted to go, I just tagged along. But this museum has something for everyone. He enjoyed all the technical displays and I enjoyed the human interest stories of the people who had worked there. I have to applaude the museum, they didn't try to sugar-coat what was done here. They showed the positive as well as the negative. No matter what your feelings are about the outcome of the Manhattan Project, this will help you understand the sentiments at that time.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie63701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin TX
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“History of the Manhattan Project”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This has a really interesting display about the Manhattan Project, with anecdotes from people who worked there. There is also a lot of information about our current nuclear arsenal, the future of nuclear science, etc.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BabsinTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bradbury Science Museum also viewed

 

Been to Bradbury Science Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing