We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard diner food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hill Diner - CLOSED

Hill Diner
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Northern NM
Level Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Standard diner food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

It's convenient & popular. Has the normal burgers, soups, salad, etc. No alcohol, so the football games are a little weird. Staff is friendly & the owner is usually there at lunch.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank NMBomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    19
    15
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Down Home Cooking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our friends from the Midwest like to eat at the Hill Diner to get a break from the spicier Southwestern fare. Not boring food, just more tame.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Los Alamos, NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fried Foodies Love Fest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I don't really care too much for most of their food since there are giant portions and many fried foods on the menu. Desserts are huge and pretty good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RioGrandeAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quaint, if you enjoy booths that appear decimated by wild animals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

I have been to this restaurant several times, not because it is the nicest location in town, but because the food is decent and it is one of a very few choices. I find the restaurants in this town all lack something, so the bar is set pretty low.
Prices seem average to me. I guess if you are used to eating at Denny's they would be high, but for the portion sizes, I don't find them to be outrageous. Chicken fried steak with a heaping portion of mashed potatoes and fried green beans for $9.75 actually seems reasonable to me.
The service on the other hand is extremely casual. The servers are polite enough, but watching teen wait staff with I-pod and headphones was a bit weird. Ironically did not affect our service.
The booths...my biggest complaint. For god's sake, what animal mauled the seats? The felt under the tablecloths is ratty and disintegrating, while the seats look like they were an afterthough in a first grade home economics class, complete with cheap fabric, thick plastic and every handyman's favorite...staples. Those booths that don't sport the fabric/plastic covers, are torn and ripped to shreds. Although the decor is cute, there is no excuse for the lack of pride these owners have taken in this location. Sad, since the restaurant had a nice write up years back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RebebaSho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent American food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We ate lunch and were very impressed. By no means fancy, the food was comfort food at its best and not expensive. We had the fried pickles and the the pot roast special. We shared this because of the large portion size and were not charged extra. The service was thoughtful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vandp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hill Diner also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing