We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Bet in Los Alamos for Travelers”

Pajarito Brewpub and Grill
Ranked #6 of 46 Restaurants in Los Alamos
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
210 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Best Bet in Los Alamos for Travelers”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

"Very Good" for this community, probably average by the standards of larger communities. There aren't a lot of good choices in this small city.

Our hosts (locals) took us here on a Sunday evening around 7:30 pm and there was a good sized crowd with several large screen TVs tuned to Sunday night football. While the crowd was mostly younger, there was a scattering of other age groups, including seniors. I can imagine on other days of the week that the scene is younger and more boisterous.

They have a wide selection of good beers on tap, including several of my favorites from California (Scimshaw Pils) and the Midwest (Moose Drool), and all pints are $4.50, which I thought was a good deal.

The menu has pretty good range of choices, although it is basically pub food or one step up, Good quality, well prepared, and they are sensitive to those with dietary restrictions (they have gluten free bread). Good hamburgers and sweet potato fries.

One important tip: you need to have a photo id with you. Even if you are on Medicare, they will not serve you alcohol/beer without the id. No exceptions, according to our hosts, even if they "know" you.

Another tip: the booths are worth waiting for as they are a little quieter. Tables near the windows can be very cold in the winter.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BerkeleyJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    76
    30
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level Contributor
171 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Almost average food”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went to the Pajarito brewpub for dinner and ordered salad, soup and a hamburger. The service was reasonable - knowledgeable waitress (maybe a bit overextended!), and the food arrived without too much delay. The black bean soup was disappointing. It was warm, not hot. The beans were chewy - I think that good bean soup is made when the beans soften and merge with the broth. The hamburger was OK - nothing special, and the sweet-potato fries were good. All in all an average experience, a tad on the expensive side but not too much so. Oh, and the beer on tap was excellent!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelogue6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
125 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Fun, overpriced, good beer selection”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is the best place to get a beer in Los Alamos. Given the dearth of pubs or bars in this town, anywhere with more than a dozen options on tap wins by default. However, this place is actually pretty good. I've never been amazed by any of the food, and I've tried burgers and a couple different dishes. They have a lot of interesting options for food. They seem to be going for classy or upscale, definitely modern, with prices to match but not quite the quality you'd expect. The fish and chips tasted like what I'd get anywhere, though I like the burgers a bit more. However, it's a fun place to grab a beer or two with some friends. Good service and a good atmosphere. I think they even have a few TVs for sports.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Truffle Fries!”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Oh my goodness! With powdered walnuts and parmesan cheese, and a generous portion. We tried, but couldn't finish this treat!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome Lunch”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Great selection of beers. Try the Black and Tan. Fish and chips were great. Some of the best fries I've ever had. Well worth the drive if you are anywhere near.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Besttravelsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pajarito Brewpub and Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pajarito Brewpub and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing