We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

White Rock Overlook Park
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Los Alamos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Favorite park of tourists and residents alike provides magnificent views of the Rio Grande and facilities for outdoor sports and picnicking.
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Very windy when we got there so we did not spend too much time out on the overlook. Would go back when less wind is blowing everywhere .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank herbiethecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    55
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Extraordinary vistas. A short drive through White Rock subdivisions, but then complete wilderness. And free.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great views and even a little hiking”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

First off, the Overlook Park has a bunch of fields for sports. Once you drive past that, you arrive at the overlook. It does look like a mini Grand Canyon, with the Rio Grande winding through the valley below. You can actually hike down to it on the Blue Dot trail which starts a few hundred feet away. Or you can walk along the ridge on dirt paths and continue to enjoy the view. It's typical Southwest geography, not the red rock Arizona / Utah kind but there are a variety of colors and geographical features to observe. A nice place to take a picnic lunch (there are tables I believe) and have a little walk afterwards.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful!!”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

So incredibly worth the drive! This was so pretty. Everywhere you look, it's just beautiful. We looked and started taking pictures right out of the car and then every step was prettier and prettier. Beautiful and YES definitely recommend it and YES definitely will return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank amy i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
197 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Stunning Scenery! A Must See.”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

After a day at nearby attractions, our local friend took us to White Rock Overlook Park. It's better known by residents than tourists, so it was totally empty when we visited. The vistas are breathtaking! If you are near Los Alamos or Bandelier, then this park is a must see. We went to two viewing areas, both of which are worth exploring---very short, flat hikes to the edges. Not only can you see the winding Rio Grande, but the rugged land contours, the mesas, the rocky cliffs---they are all simply stunning. (I found the views from here much more impressive than those from the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge, outside of Taos.) We saw a pair of coyotes wandering the neighborhood as we left White Rock Overlook Park. Just know that they are around!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiffy_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rock Overlook Park also viewed

 

Been to White Rock Overlook Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing