We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a magnificient view!! Don't miss this!”

White Rock Overlook Park
Ranked #3 of 20 things to do in Los Alamos
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Favorite park of tourists and residents alike provides magnificent views of the Rio Grande and facilities for outdoor sports and picnicking.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
677 reviews
296 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“What a magnificient view!! Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

When we stopped at the Los Alamos Visitor Center, the nice man planned our day and suggested that we stop here on our way home. Tired and weary, we debated whether or not to make this extra stop! Well, did we make a good decision! It is easy to find, but as the man said " Be sure to pass the ballfields." When you get to the end of the road, walk out to the lookout and you have the most wonderful 280 degree view that includes a look at the Rio Grande, mountains in all directions, two small waterfalls to your back left as you look out. it was one of the most spectacular views of our vacation and to think we almost missed it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    52
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great view, easy to get to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Upon returning to Santa Fe from Bandelier National Monument, we saw signs for the White Rock Overlook and decided to take a short detour. So glad we did! The views of the Rio Grande River far below, and mountains and mesas in the distance, are breathtaking. The overlook is literally suspended over the edge of a cliff; you can look back to the left and see a couple of waterfalls plunging down hundreds of feet.

The approach to the overlook is quite unassuming, through a subdivision and local park with ball fields and lots of open space and trails. When you do get to the overlook parking lot, the views appear pretty much out of nowhere, enhancing the effect. Well worth the few minutes detour!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinblond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a nice lookout area overlooking the Rio Grande River. There is nothing else here...but it's well worth the short drive off the main road to take in the views.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CherylSanJose_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overlook Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

if you're traveling to Bandelier, or to Los Alamos it's worth it to make a quick stop at the Overlook site. I wouldn't make a special trip there otherwisde.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank RoRo1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Incredible Views of the Rio Grande River”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Right off the main road and through a neighborhood at White Rock are amazing views. I thought the were unique in their views of the RIo Grand River and the valley, plus across the river into the mountain rangers (another reviewer didn't). For the time and ease in getting there, I think it's high value.
From parking lot to the main viewing platform is accessible. There are side views that would not be.
Shuttle drivers to Bandelier will tell you how to get there or check the White Rock Visitors center - it's very easy to find.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tlizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Rock Overlook Park also viewed

 

Been to White Rock Overlook Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing