We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Reviewed July 16, 2012

No, this isn't a four star hotel in the true sense of the word. It's a little old motel that is a bit shabby but very clean and in a great location with and excellent price. When all you need is a clean place to rest your weary head then this is the place for you. The pool is just an above ground one with not much depth, but my kids enjoyed cooling off in it on a hot day.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 203 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a sad little motel that reminds one of a movie from the 50s. As other reviewers have said, it is clean. But the lights on the porch burn all night and show right through the unlined drapes, there is no TV and only a rather primitive coffee maker. Tiny bars of poor quality soap make a morning shower problematic unless you have some you brought. Pool is a joke. Its location is excellent, however and enables you to stay virtually in the park, where dusk and dawn are its best times.

Room Tip: I think you might be better off in the main building and not one of the rooms that rings the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

1st contact, spoke with gentleman about the room, made reservation and Larry was very friendly and answered every question. We ended up being able to go on vacaton a day earlier and changing the reservation was no problem. We visited the Badlands and got to the hotel in late afternoon. The room was spotless and one of the biggest rooms we have ever had. Regardless, the other 2 motels in the immediate area don't look like anything fancy. The pool was clean and cool. We were there in extreme heat and the air conditioner kept up fine. We didnt get the chance to eat the pancakes made with recipe from the piondeer days. You dont need a fitness center in The Badlands, just go for a hike in the natural beauty. When asked fastest way to Rapid City man at front desk said take a right out of the driveway and hit the gas, You can see some more of the Badlands going that way and not on the interstate, but make sure your car is gassed up, cuz there is NO traffic and no farmhouses within walking distance.

Room Tip: i really liked the room that we had in the seperate building. We will be back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wren32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I'm used to staying at the Hilton. Needless to say, this very humble hotel is anything but that. However, you will not find a cleaner room anywhere. I am fastidiously clean, so with a flashlight I pulled up sheets, moved mattresses, inspected bathrooms and corners only to find an immaculate room. This 70's hotel is no beauty, but a good room in a great local. Give it a chance.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GenThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed in room 221 which is one of the rooms on the upper level of the main building. There are some rooms upstairs of the office and dining area; the other rooms are drive-up rooms in a seperate building. The room was roomy - nicely spaced so the beds weren't scrunched together; there was a small stand-up shower in the bathroom and a small sink. The room had a small window air conditioner that is kind of noisy but it worked just fine and cooled the room. The room was $73 but if you have AAA - then you can get a nice discount. The couple who works the counter were very nice, friendly, and helpful. The room was very clean. The view is awesome - they are literally just past the entry point to the Badlands - right by the area that has the Night Sky program. They only serve breakfast - but there is a cafe just down the road at another campsite; open to the public. That building also has a nice gift shop w/ a little store. I do wish they had a TV - but there is free WIFI. We watched a movie on our laptop.

Room Tip: Roomier rooms - ask for the rooms above the office. They have better views too - backside of the of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nekko95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed for one night and would stay again when in the area.
Nice clean rooms and Owners were very friendly and helpful.
Just a stones throw from the Beautiful Badlands and interesting town of interior.
No TV in room but wasn't really needed for the night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DolceMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Thought it would be really unique to sleep in a 'real' tee-pee, except real tee-pee's have an opening on the top to the sky and rain comes inside. Especially in a big storm. We arrived during a dry moment and realized our teepee was a soggy mess. Fortunately they had a camping cabin available. It was simple and rustic with 4 beds and air conditioning. there was a little porch on the front. Looked wonderful to us. It really was decent and I'd stay in them again. The bad part was walking to the bathrooms. The rain made a mess of the road to get there. The sourdough pancakes were delicious and a bargain. Great staff! Very friendly and helpful. Prices were reasonable. Their website explains the place better than the corporate site: badlandsbudgethostmotel.com

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ampanmangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
23.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
22.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#10 of 11 in Wall
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Travelodge Wall
Travelodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
142 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
24.0 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Interior Motel and Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Interior Motel and Campground

Address: 900 Sd Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-7031 (Formerly Badlands Budget Host Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Interior
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Interior Motel and Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel & campground 1 mile south of Badlands National Park. Store & restaurant serving breakfast 7-9 daily. Swimming pool and close to small western town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Badlands Interior Motel and Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Badlands Budget Host Hotel Interior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing