We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Circle View Guest Ranch
Nearby Hotels
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Badlands Inn(Interior)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (278)
Filter reviews
278 results
Traveler rating
228
40
8
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
40
8
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsfeed the chickenssouth dakotablueberry pancakesguest kitchenping pongthe main housekruse familyliving roombadlands national parkcowboy cabinwonderful hostsroad tripbreakfast was amazingblack hillsrapid cityhorseback riding
Filter
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 278 reviews
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here one night in early-mid June with our children. This is a family-run guest ranch located on the edge of (and with great views of) the Badlands. The ranch has been in Philip's family for about 100 years. He and his wife Amy and their 3 young children make everyone feel at home, and indeed, the main lodge is also their home. A young man (local high school student) working there this summer also made a very excellent impression as hospitable and professional.

My children immediately made friends with some of the other guests' children, with whom they played ping pong and fuze ball in the game room. An evening campfire with endless vistas of stars was memorable. Our clean room included a queen bed and a set of bunk beds with our own bathroom. Breakfast was healthy, varied, and gave us a great start to the day. Afterward, Amy took the children to collect eggs from the hens. The lodging rates were very reasonable.

Our only regret is that we could not stay another 2 - 3 nights. If we were do to this trip over again, I would use Circle View as our base for seeing the Badlands and the Black Hills of South Dakota.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaineacFamilyof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We come here every year. Phil and Amy are such nice people and they make our stay comfortable and relaxed. We love the view out the window, and of course all you have to do is step outside the ranch to see one of the marvels of God's creation! Also, I am a piano player and it's nice that there is a piano there, so I can entertain the other guests (before everyone goes to sleep of course). Breakfast is delicious and hearty. Thanks Phil and Amy and we'll see you next time! ~Steve & Tara Buzash

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TSBuzash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

If you ever want to see the night sky without pollution this is the best location. Situated on a mesa with wonderful views of the Badlands and the White River. This B&B is close to the main Badlands NP Vistior's Center and is the absolute best place to stay in the Badlands. And the country breakfast kept us going all day. Delicious!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marilyn0124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

The breakfast was the best. Beautiful view. Lovely family run business. Good for all ages. We would love to return.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillysallyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2010

My husband and I visited this B and B on a road trip through South Dakota. We liked the location. It is just outside the Badlands National Park and there is a very scenic view from this purpose-built B and B. The breakfast was very good. The bedroom was only just okay. It had thin walls and it was too easy to hear the couple next door. The sheets were pilled. There were no toiletries (except soap) provided. It might be hard to make the walls more sound-proof at this point but the sheets could be replaced and toiletries added. My husband said it was one of his favorite B and B's of the trip so clearly these deficiencies didn't bother him. Phil, the host, recommended a good hike for us to take and was quite friendly. The dog was very friendly and overall we felt fortunate to stay in such a nice place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonyM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded October 5, 2010

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here at the ranch. We appreciate your feedback and do rely on it in order to make staying here a memorable experience for everyone.

We have lots and lots of toiletries to offer guests. We normally leave only soaps in the bathrooms because we find most people have shampoo, lotions, etc.. and ours only get wasted. If only you would have asked we would have been more than happy to stock your bathroom with these things. (Perhaps next season I'll leave a notice informing guests to do so if they need them.) And one of my winter jobs is to replace the sheets before next summer season. I'm sorry that you found them less than perfect.

We're so happy your husband enjoyed his stay here and do hope you'll consider staying again if you're ever back in the Badlands again.

Thanks again for taking the time to point these things out to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews