We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Badlands Inn
Nearby Hotels
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveler rating
16
57
48
22
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
57
48
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanbag of icenothing fancyhard boiled eggsthe ac unityogurtsouth entrancewatch the sunrisebreakfast selectiondown the roadgreat roomcedar passtwo queen bedsstayed two nightsposterslinensmicrowave
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 159 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2008

I read the reviews posted on this site and was very disappointed in how the other people had rated this facility. The room had flys and another flying insect already checked in- but what was really bad was the bug that was crawing in the bed linen. Note that I did not say it was a "bed bug" - bed bugs are red and this creature was small, black and crawled like a spider. The blanket had holes in it - and the box springs had what appeared to be blood stains on the sides.

They refused to do a refund and told me that I would have to talk to the manager the next day. When I called, I was kept on hold for about 4 minutes before the clerk told me that he was in a meeting.

Believe me, it is not what the picture shows or matches the description. It is seedy, unkept and very shabby.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank retiredperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2008

Badlands Inn – Badlands National Park.
Terrible experience. Admittedly, they had one of the worst rain storms in years the night we were to stay there but that is really no excuse for the lack of preparation. We had reservations for 2 nights, May 22 & 23, the rains came on the eve of the 22nd. Room had a TV and Coffee maker. However, the room flooded as did the basement (a basement in a building on a flat plain) and the pump for potable water (a well???) in the basement shorted out so – no water from the faucet – just on the floor. We left and went to Wall for the night. Back the next day and got our money back with no problem. However, when in the midst of the various crises – no water and water on the floor - there was no provision for contacting ANYONE regarding the problem (which probably wasn’t going to be fixed right then anyway) or the possibility of moving to another room. Absolutely no one available until the next AM at the Lodge back in the park, which, on that date, shut down tight at 7:00 PM. Bottom line, if there is the remotest possibility of rain, don’t stay here.

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank NationalParkHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2008

We stayed at the Badlands Inn for three nights during the Memorial Day weekend. The hotel is basic, but has a great view of the Badlands.

One thing we learnt during our stay is that the staff is not equipped to handle a full house. Out of the 3 nights, we had house-keeping come in only for 2, out of which they just made the bed one day, without doing anything else (like replenishing coffee, cups, etc).

The worst thing we had to endure through out the trip was to live with a sogging wet carpet. The day we checked-in, we realized that the 1/4th of the carpet was suqishy and sogging wet, but no body seemed to care / notice. As the carpet started drying, it started emitting a very powerful but foul stench. Nothing was done about it and all we could do was open the window and crank up the AC (when it was about 40 degrees outside)!!

Advice - Before you unpack and spread out, ensure that your carpet doesn't squish or stink.

The restaurant is good but unfortunately doesn't know how to cook grilled chicken or chicken alfredo. Grilled chicken was like biting into a shoe sole (a very dry shoe sole, I must add) and the chicken was 'garnished' upon the pasta to be called a chicken alfredo. So, pack your own food and a microwave if you plan to spend the night over there.

Advice - Do not ask for anything that 'tastes like chicken' or looks like one.

But all these small problems were no match to the facinating views, amazing trails and the most exortic animals that you get to experience in the Badlands. So, I definitely recommend going to the Badlands and staying at the Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyMan021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2007

As others have said, this is pretty basic lodging, but the location can't be beat. Rooms are clean, staff is pleasant, views are great, and the price is very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank catem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

We made reservations some two months before, after finding information about the Badlands Inn here on TripAdvisor. The last time we had been to the Badlands was in 1982 with our kids, and we looked forward to the ability to actually stay right at the Badlands this time. We arrived at the Inn on Tuesday, August 21, 007 and stayed for 3 nights.
The Inn is very basic and and is located just outside the Interior entrance of the Badlands National Park. Check-inn was handled by an extremely friendly and courteous lady. The room was of a reasonable size but very clean. The bathroom was of a good size and also very clean. The beds were very comfortable and provided us with a great sleep.
If you require internet connection or television with 50-60 channels, then this is not the place for you. However, if you enjoy being close to nature, watching hundreds of stars over a backdrop of dark badlands then this is the p;lace to stay.
The Inn is owned by the same organization as the Cedar Pass Cabins less than a mile from the Inn.
Breakfast is not provided, however the Cedar Pass Restaurant next to the National Park Office, provides great meals at reasonable prices, and with a staff that always seems to smile.
The Badlands Inn to us was a wonderful place to rest after a day of hiking through this unbelievable gorgeous area. It also provided sufficient rest to be able to rise early in the morning to see and photograph sunrise over the Badlands.
We happily recommend the Inn to those whose first concern is nature and who are willing to go without great luxury for a few days.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jomoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews