We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - worth it!”
Review of Badlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badlands Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Interior B&B and Inns
Palatine, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location - worth it!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

What can you say about this place. It is a nice clean little inn - which is always great but it is location, location location!!!! We stayed here in the beginning of July and it was great! Practically every room faces the park, so you can see the sunrise and sunset! It was worth it. There is the lodge in the park but this is the second closest place to the park. It allowed us to get more hiking time. Plus they give you a 5 pound bag of ice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    56
    45
    20
    15
See reviews for
61
59
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights during our cross-country trip and were happy and surprised by the quality of our stay. The bed was soft and comfortable - we both slept very well. The location was perfect. The Badlands Inn is just outside of the Badlands National Park's south entrance by about 500 feet. We could see the park's amphitheater from our room. Thus, the motel has a view of the Badlands themselves. Also, we really enjoyed the little continental breakfast provided in the motel's dining area/office each morning. The motel is rustic, don't expect luxury, but it is clean, comfortable, well-situated, and well-run. If you're going to the Badlands, stay here before you stay anywhere in Wall. Waking up in the morning to see the park and going to sleep at night with the ability to step outside and see the stars makes the Badlands Inn a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here during July 4th weekend, and therefore the prices may have been inflated. But we paid $137 for a night in what was nothing more than a roadside motel. It was clean, but very old. Nothing fancy--the TV only got a few channels and the A/C had definitely seen better days. The breakfast was very nice, however: they friendly lady had even set out fresh blueberries for your cereal. It was nice to wake up and be only a mile away from the Badlands and hiking, but the price was very high for the state of this motel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt2938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here while travelling from coast to coast. The room was clean and reasonable. Did not stay for breakfast as it did not open until 7am and I wanted to get moving. Perfect place to view sunrise and sunset in the badlands if you do not want to camp. In the middle of no where but felt ok even travelling as a single woman alone. Not much in town but two bars. If you want that you would be disappointed but if you want beautiful views and quiet the hotel works well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

When we decided to stop in the Badlands and found the Badlands Inn was nearly the only option for us, we were nervous. The Cedar Pass Lodge just up the road was full and offered us accommodation in their sister motel. There were no photos on their web site and we seemed destined for a dismal experience.

Were we surprised...pleasantly! While I wouldn't pretend that this is four star material, the rooms were recently updated and very clean. It is close to the heart of the Northern part of the Badlands National Park and offered quick access to the evening programming at the park and a number of the trails.

You got free breakfast at the Cedar Pass Lodge restaurant...not a continental breakfast - you just ordered off the menu. A fine family stop in a wonderful national park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mattsju94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent one night in late June, family of four in a double queen. The office is currently open and breakfast is served on site now for the rest of the season. The person in the office told us that they just opened the office that week because the new owners had put new linens on all the beds and the old bedding had been stored in the office which they just cleaned out.

The motel is basic, but they do: give you a five lb bag of ice every day, have a decent breakfast (hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins, bagels, fruit, yogurt), great airconditioning, a friendly staff and a great location. There are very limited dining options either the Cedar Pass Lodge or two small bars in Interior. We chose the Wagon Wheel for $33 we got 4 dinners (2 burgers & 2 chicken fingers all with fries, 2 soft drinks & 2 beers).

Our room (#18) had two small shower curtains in the bathtub which was a disaster with preteen boys- water everywhere. No liner, just these flimsy cloth curtains that didn't keep the water in.Also the morning light is brutal, there are blinds on the window but not dark enough.

There is a good size fridge (the taller "mini" fridge) a table and chairs. There is also a bench outside every room so you can soak in the views.

There are no amenities- pool etc. So check out the Budget Host if that is important.

We paid $120 for a room on a Friday night in nigh season which I thought was reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexicocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I are traveling across country for 8 weeks with our dog. We chose Badlands Inn because they took dogs. You are in the Badlands-1 mile outside the park gate-on the Badlands scenic loop. The views are amazing. You are close enough to enjoy everything the Badlands has to offer but far enough away from any crowds. The Inn is small, basic and a little worn. But clean and everything works. Interior is not worth a trip- but if you do the 29 mile loop you end up in Wall. You can get anything you need there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherlock621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
22.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.1 mi away
Days Inn Wall
Days Inn Wall
#11 of 11 in Wall
266 reviews
19.7 mi away
Budget Host Sundowner
Budget Host Sundowner
#2 of 6 in Kadoka
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Inn

Property: Badlands Inn
Address: I-90 Exit 131 Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-0103
Location: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Interior
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 20 rooms has a magnificent view of the Badlands. You will rest well in our double queen rooms with upgraded high thread count linens/with bamboo towels (the linens use less energy to dry and are made with long bamboo fibers making them last longer than cotton towels), free WiFi, AC/Heat, cable TV, Energy Star Microwave & Mini refrigerator, Energy Star Coffee Maker with organic and shade grown coffee and complimentary breakfast in the lobby. There is an evening happy hour of local wine tasting in the lobby of the Inn for our guests. Night Skies in the Badlands are particularly dark and we encourage you to experience the FREE Ranger led tours in the amphitheater located inside the Park, less than a mile away. We are an Environmentally Friendly Inn and encourage recycling, plus we are a 100% non-smoking property and welcome pets. (There is a $10/night additional fee per pet). Children 15 years and younger stay free in same room with adult. We are the closest lodging to Badlands National Park (an easy walk from the Interior entrance) and only 9 miles from I-90 at Exit 131 and the Minute Man National Missile Monument. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badlands Hotel Interior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing