We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location...the room left lots to be desired”
Review of Badlands Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Interior
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Badlands Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Interior B&B and Inns
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location...the room left lots to be desired”
Reviewed July 24, 2012

The location is why Badlands Inn can be rated a 3 out of 5. It's located just outside Badlands Park...your location couldn't be better actually.

The room pros of the room is that it had a refrigerator. The cons were that the bed was very worn and because of that you could feel the springs through it, but the biggest thing is that there were dead flies all over the room I found at least 15 dead flies)! I understand that the area is filled with flies (it really was) and I understand that rooms are sometimes closed up for a period of time and that there may have been flies caught in there and died. But, couldn't someone have gone in the room to check it out and make sure everything was up to par before sending us into the dead bug room?

The location is well worth it, just be prepared that the room leaves a whole lot to be desired.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Koto-Bax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    53
    42
    19
    13
See reviews for
54
56
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
162 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I'll just reiterate what others have said, that the location is the reason you're paying $100 a night here. It's basically a $70/night room. Very basic, but clean. (Minus the flies. We killed 13 of them after entering the room the first time, then made sure we didn't leave the door open at all because there's a whole bunch of them waiting to get inside.)

Very laid back atmosphere. When we checked in shortly after 3, the guy on duty hadn't yet assigned rooms for the night. So we got the pick of the litter, which was nice. No issues with noise (I think the AC unit drowned out anything that could've been heard from other rooms.) And, as has been stated many times, you can see the entrance to Badlands Park from your balcony, which is awesome.

We'd certainly stay here again, but wish the price was about $20 less per night.

Room Tip: Upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This motel is a bit on the tired side... but the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, there is air conditioning (so important in July!), and the free continental breakfast was excellent.

We just spent 2 nights here and would willingly stay here again. It's just outside the Badlands National Park and is a perfect headquarters for exploring the park and nearby attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is unbeatable - and that's really the best that can be said for this place. If not for the location and lack of competition, this place would be rated lower. On the plus side, the staff is friendly, and the rooms are clean if highly dated. What it boils down to is this - if you want a luxury experience - you are in the wrong place. If you want to be in your bed within 2 minutes of leaving a night ranger program in Badlands National Park - this is your place. I'd stay here again - because of, you guessed it, the location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinasNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glen ridge, nj
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I had low expectations for this place given some of the reviews. But on a 105 degree day, the Badlands Inn was a perfect oasis. it's not the Ritz and the building is a bit beat, but the rooms were clean and the staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martroon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

So glad we decided to stay here during our Yellowstone/Badlands vacation. The room was big, clean and we had a wonderful view of the Badlands. My only concern was the flight of stairs to get to our room on the 2nd floor. If you are handicapped or have trouble with steps, be sure to ask for a ground floor room when booking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We were a little hesitant after reading the older reviews, but the more recent ones gave us hope so we decided to give it a chance. After all it was only one night.
What a pleasant surprise. Came up the road from Interior and the place looked so isolated amid the foreboding landscape of the Badlands NP less than a mile away.
The desk clerk was wonderful. The reception lobby/breakfast room was simple but clean and welcoming. We got our free bag of ice - the first one's on them!
Our room was upstairs with a glorious view of the Badlands. We traveled with our nearly 8 year-old daughter. She loved watching the cattle mere yards from the Inn property. Their moos and the songs of flycatchers & other birds were the only sounds except for the prairie winds. Ahh!
Our room was clean, nicely appointed. We all had good sleep even with rain
overnight. Breakfast was simple but delicious. When we return we will stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patobello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Interior
22.2 mi away
Best Western Plains Motel
22.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
1.1 mi away
Badlands Interior Motel and Campground
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Super 8 Wall
Super 8 Wall
#4 of 11 in Wall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
22.2 mi away
America's Best Value Inn
22.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Wall
Econo Lodge Wall
#8 of 11 in Wall
3.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badlands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badlands Inn

Property: Badlands Inn
Address: I-90 Exit 131 Highway 377, Interior, SD 57750-0103
Location: United States > South Dakota > Interior
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Interior
Hotel Class:2 star — Badlands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 20 rooms has a magnificent view of the Badlands. You will rest well in our double queen rooms with upgraded high thread count linens/with bamboo towels (the linens use less energy to dry and are made with long bamboo fibers making them last longer than cotton towels), free WiFi, AC/Heat, cable TV, Energy Star Microwave & Mini refrigerator, Energy Star Coffee Maker with organic and shade grown coffee and complimentary breakfast in the lobby. There is an evening happy hour of local wine tasting in the lobby of the Inn for our guests. Night Skies in the Badlands are particularly dark and we encourage you to experience the FREE Ranger led tours in the amphitheater located inside the Park, less than a mile away. We are an Environmentally Friendly Inn and encourage recycling, plus we are a 100% non-smoking property and welcome pets. (There is a $10/night additional fee per pet). Children 15 years and younger stay free in same room with adult. We are the closest lodging to Badlands National Park (an easy walk from the Interior entrance) and only 9 miles from I-90 at Exit 131 and the Minute Man National Missile Monument. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Badlands Hotel Interior

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing