We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place”
Review of Step Back Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step Back Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Aztec B&B and Inns
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

My daughter and I were traveling through New Mexico and decided to find somewhere to stay in Aztec. The Step Back Inn was great! Staff super friendly and the rooms and decor were all history! Each of the pioneer families were represented by naming the rooms and many pictures and antiques adorned the hallways and the rooms. Jasmine grew outside the front entrance and the cool evenings were so pleasant. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmbhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    20
    7
    5
    4
See reviews for
15
26
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Touring the areas National parks (from WALES,UK) the old road sign almost put us off even stopping but we are glad that we went to have a look. The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly. The place has a very good cosy feel to it. Each room given a surname as well as a number , inside the room is a brief history of the family the surname represents, old Aztec families. It is an interesting idea, we found the motel as a whole different. The room was quiet, spacious and clean with unusual decor but pleasing. We sat on the roof garden and watched the world go by. Coffee/tea making facilities in the room would have been a bonus. The breakfast room did have a place where you could help yourself to tea or coffee. Breakfast was a very nice cinnamon bun with tea or coffee, a little more would have been appreciated. We enjoyed our stay, had a good nights sleep and would recommend it. A bit more expensive than the chain motels but nice to try somewhere different.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hairybookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

On a planned trip to the Chaco Culture site we pulled off the road at Aztec to look for accommodation and found ourselves parked near the Step Back Inn. Looks a little twee from the outside and different from the chain hotels on the inside. Very clean rooms and very friendly receptionist. We found the beds comfortable and the rooms quiet. No coffee facilities in the rooms but available downstairs. Breakfast limited to coffee / tea and a cinnamon roll (home baked). Not for everyone but stayed for three nights and found it friendly and comfortable. Enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Step back to a strip mall hotel. Noisy - right on main highway. Noisy AC and bathroom fan. Truly - truly bad TV reception. No frig, poor internet. Really BAD breakfast. Coffee is terrible. Rock hard beds with bad sheets. I wish they would spend their money on basic services, including a receptionist with a brain rather than all this Victorian crap.

We left early and moved to the Farmington Comfort Inn. Sometimes going for the predictable product is a better choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
243 reviews
142 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2011

You'll like this place if you're opinion is swayed by antique wallpaper and furniture. You won't mind the tiny 19" tv and lack of a desk for using your laptop. The desk clerk gave me room 3 because she said wifi access only reached halfway down the hall. False. I had to move to the lobby to get a steady wifi connection. Since the front desk staff goes home at 9:00 they didn't notice.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our original plans were to drive from Moab Utah (Arches Natl Park) to Four Corners and spend the night in Farmington at the Best Western. Well the Best Western is no longer and the Marriott was booked full so we traveled to Bloomfield and the Best Western was also full except for smoking rooms (who has smoking rooms any more??) We asked the girl at reception if there was any place to stay in Aztec, since this was our first stop the next day, and she was gracious enough to call The Step Back Inn, who had rooms available. What a great suggestion and surprise! This is just what we needed after our 220 plus miles drive, quiet, clean and yet down to earth. After experiencing 1115 mile drive over 5 days starting out in Albuquerque (Balloon Fiesta, Best Western Executive Suites) to Mesa Verde, Far View Lodge), to Arches (Moab Utah Arches Inn), to Four Corners and continuing on to Santa Fe.......this was a great spot for some down time!

The home made cinnamon rolls in the morning were great. What a plus and a memory that will be relived forever. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjgalusha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
883 reviews
278 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 522 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Remember when you went to your grandmothers or aunts house and it wasn't that much fun? Relive those times at the Step Back Inn. The location is good for visiting Aztec Ruins and Salmon Ruins, but for a more comfortable night (with more amenities), you might want to stay someplace else.

I had room 27 which had one queen size bed but otherwise sparsely furnished. There was no desk, no luggage rack (or surface to put luggage on, except for the floor), no in-room coffee/tea setup, no internet connection (they had wi-fi, but it was very slow) and no breakfast. Another guest gave me her luggage rack to use. They do have coffee/tea and rolls in the lobby in the mornings, but no rolls were available the first morning we were there. They do not service rooms on Sundays. And I’m sorry to say that the front desk staff is cranky.

If you want a cozy,homey Victorian decor, stay here. But if you need decent standard hotel amenities, you might want to choose another place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aztec
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Aztec Farmington North
8.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Territorial Inn & Suites
11.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Farmington / Bloomfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Super 8 Bloomfield
Super 8 Bloomfield
#2 of 2 in Bloomfield
183 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 23 in Farmington
125 reviews
9.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Farmington
TownePlace Suites Farmington
#9 of 23 in Farmington
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Step Back Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Back Inn

Property: Step Back Inn
Address: 123 W Aztec Blvd, Aztec, NM 87410-1947
Location: United States > New Mexico > Aztec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aztec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Step Back Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step Back Inn is a Victorian Decor, B&B style hotel with each room named after an 1800's pioneer in the Animas River Valley. We are within walking distance to the World Heritage site Aztec Ruins National Monument, and the wonderful Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village on Main Street. There are seven eateries within walking distance as well as several trails and parks. We have a very safe and friendly community and there are lots of things to see and do while you are in our area. As you start your day we serve homemade cinnamon rolls and fresh juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. No rubber eggs here! Our rooms are very quiet and clean and we know you will enjoy your stay with us. Thanks, T. Blancett-owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Step Back Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Back Hotel Aztec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing