We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced - poor value”
Review of Step Back Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Step Back Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Aztec B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Step back to a strip mall hotel. Noisy - right on main highway. Noisy AC and bathroom fan. Truly - truly bad TV reception. No frig, poor internet. Really BAD breakfast. Coffee is terrible. Rock hard beds with bad sheets. I wish they would spend their money on basic services, including a receptionist with a brain rather than all this Victorian crap.

We left early and moved to the Farmington Comfort Inn. Sometimes going for the predictable product is a better choice.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alaskanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

You'll like this place if you're opinion is swayed by antique wallpaper and furniture. You won't mind the tiny 19" tv and lack of a desk for using your laptop. The desk clerk gave me room 3 because she said wifi access only reached halfway down the hall. False. I had to move to the lobby to get a steady wifi connection. Since the front desk staff goes home at 9:00 they didn't notice.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheTimMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Our original plans were to drive from Moab Utah (Arches Natl Park) to Four Corners and spend the night in Farmington at the Best Western. Well the Best Western is no longer and the Marriott was booked full so we traveled to Bloomfield and the Best Western was also full except for smoking rooms (who has smoking rooms any more??) We asked the girl at reception if there was any place to stay in Aztec, since this was our first stop the next day, and she was gracious enough to call The Step Back Inn, who had rooms available. What a great suggestion and surprise! This is just what we needed after our 220 plus miles drive, quiet, clean and yet down to earth. After experiencing 1115 mile drive over 5 days starting out in Albuquerque (Balloon Fiesta, Best Western Executive Suites) to Mesa Verde, Far View Lodge), to Arches (Moab Utah Arches Inn), to Four Corners and continuing on to Santa Fe.......this was a great spot for some down time!

The home made cinnamon rolls in the morning were great. What a plus and a memory that will be relived forever. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjgalusha58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Remember when you went to your grandmothers or aunts house and it wasn't that much fun? Relive those times at the Step Back Inn. The location is good for visiting Aztec Ruins and Salmon Ruins, but for a more comfortable night (with more amenities), you might want to stay someplace else.

I had room 27 which had one queen size bed but otherwise sparsely furnished. There was no desk, no luggage rack (or surface to put luggage on, except for the floor), no in-room coffee/tea setup, no internet connection (they had wi-fi, but it was very slow) and no breakfast. Another guest gave me her luggage rack to use. They do have coffee/tea and rolls in the lobby in the mornings, but no rolls were available the first morning we were there. They do not service rooms on Sundays. And I’m sorry to say that the front desk staff is cranky.

If you want a cozy,homey Victorian decor, stay here. But if you need decent standard hotel amenities, you might want to choose another place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My daughter and I drove from Denver to Aztec to see our extended family for a short visit. The Step Back Inn was very comfortably decorated and especially clean. The staff made us feel right at home as if we had known them for some time from the time we entered the lobby until we left at the end of our stay. They have a very comfortable eating area for the continental breakfast and many shadow boxes on the walls showing times from the past. that were very interesting. The continental breakfast was special as they heat pecan rolls when you are ready to eat and had juice and coffee available all the time. The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated with very comfortable beds. Loved our stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Picky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Clean & comfortable. Friendly staff & eager to please. Very good value for the $68.00 room rate. Close to the Animas River Blues Festival at Riverside Park. About a mile from the World Heritage Center Aztec Ruins. Across the street from a Safeway grocery store that also had a Starbucks. Aztec Restrauant on the next block had a delicious steak and egg breakfast for $6.95. Hotel has homemade cinammon rolls complimentary but you have to ask the desk clerk for them. Coffee, juice available in the morning and tea and lemonade in the afternoon. Hugh balcony upstairs with table and chairs. They probably need to replace their towels and linens soon, and the room we were in could probably stand to have the shower head replaced for those needing more water pressure, but we would definitely recommend it, and would stay there again ourself.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandmantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

A well-located, quiet, clean motel with a great staff. The homemade cinnamon rolls for breakfast are great. I have been a frequent visitor to Aztec & Farmington for ~20 years.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deodeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aztec
1.4 mi away
Presidential Inn & Suites Aztec NM
12.9 mi away
The Region Inn
The Region Inn
#11 of 23 in Farmington
129 reviews
12.7 mi away
Courtyard Farmington
Courtyard Farmington
#7 of 23 in Farmington
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Best Western Plus The Four Corners Inn
Show Prices

Been to Step Back Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step Back Inn

Address: 123 W Aztec Blvd, Aztec, NM 87410-1947
Location: United States > New Mexico > Aztec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Aztec
Price Range: $76 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Step Back Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step Back Inn is a Victorian Decor, B&B style hotel with each room named after an 1800's pioneer in the Animas River Valley. We are within walking distance fron the World Heritage site Aztec Ruins National Monument, as well as the wonderful Aztec Museum and Pioneer Village on Main Street. There are seven eateries within walking distance, as well as several trails and parks. We have a very safe and friendly community and there are lots of things to see and do while you are in our area. As you start your day we serve homemade cinnamon rolls and fresh juice, coffee, tea, and hot chocolate. No rubber eggs here! Our rooms are very quiet and clean and we know you will enjoy your stay with us. Thanks, T. Blancett-owner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Step Back Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step Back Hotel Aztec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing