We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aztec Ruins National Monument

Aztec Ruins National Monument
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Aztec
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular ruins where visitors can enter the only reconsructed kiva in the Southwest.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
196 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Interesting history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

Although it's mis-named as Aztec Ruins, it's really Puebloan, the history of the place is fascinating. It was very quiet when we were there & were lucky to have a ranger all to ourselves. She explained how it's thought that the site was built all at the same time & there were probably 2,000 rooms there. It was a highly organised society.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dabblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    108
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was about the 7th NPS site we visited on this trip and possibly our favorite. A great little park that helps history come alive for both the children and for the adults. This is a site that has easy to understand explanations and the ability for the children to go in and touch the buildings.
The park is small and easy to see the whole park/exhibit in less than 1.5 hours.

The rangers and volunteers were all very friendly and helpful. The junior ranger program was simple, but got the children thinking about what they were learning. This is a simple place, kind of reminded me of many of the California Missions (the way it was laid out and the simplicity).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank EsKezzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The pueblo people lived here 900-1000 years ago. You can see first hand how smart and practical they were in the buildings. Small, but well worth the stop, especially if you can't get to Mesa Verde National Park.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mixed- nice ruins, not enough interpretive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Family visited here while I did something else. We've been to Bandelier and other similar sites. According to them, the ruins are nice but there could've been more explanation and interpretation. My wife was disappointed that the plants weren't labeled while my daughter said the bookstore was a little small. Those sort of comments. My son liked it and had a great time. He did the junior Ranger thing and got a badge. The ladies give it a "3", he gives it a "5", so I balanced that out with a "4". Might be more exciting in summer as I bet they run a little tighter ship, then. No complaints, mind you, just had the potential for more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NMHighPlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
993 reviews
588 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,002 helpful votes
“Not really Aztec but good in combination with other sites in area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The area was not inhabited by the Aztecs but more likely by the Puebloan people represented broadly in the four corners area. Well run site by the part service. They loan you a description of the site to use during a self-guided walking tour which is interesting and helpful. The site could be completed in an hour, or 2-3 hours allows a more detailed review. An orientation film at the beginning is helpful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztec Ruins National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Aztec Ruins National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing