We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great History Lesson”

Aztec Ruins National Monument
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Aztec
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular ruins where visitors can enter the only reconsructed kiva in the Southwest.
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great History Lesson”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The pueblo people lived here 900-1000 years ago. You can see first hand how smart and practical they were in the buildings. Small, but well worth the stop, especially if you can't get to Mesa Verde National Park.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdSaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    115
    16
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mixed- nice ruins, not enough interpretive”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Family visited here while I did something else. We've been to Bandelier and other similar sites. According to them, the ruins are nice but there could've been more explanation and interpretation. My wife was disappointed that the plants weren't labeled while my daughter said the bookstore was a little small. Those sort of comments. My son liked it and had a great time. He did the junior Ranger thing and got a badge. The ladies give it a "3", he gives it a "5", so I balanced that out with a "4". Might be more exciting in summer as I bet they run a little tighter ship, then. No complaints, mind you, just had the potential for more.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NMHighPlains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
1,067 reviews
621 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2,131 helpful votes
“Not really Aztec but good in combination with other sites in area”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

The area was not inhabited by the Aztecs but more likely by the Puebloan people represented broadly in the four corners area. Well run site by the part service. They loan you a description of the site to use during a self-guided walking tour which is interesting and helpful. The site could be completed in an hour, or 2-3 hours allows a more detailed review. An orientation film at the beginning is helpful.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trek-Always
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Awesome site for southwest archaeology”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Aztec Ruins National Monument is an awesome site for southwest archaeology. The ruins and history of the monument are very interesting and fun to explore. I would think this would be a great place for kids because you have the opportunity to climb inside some of the finished rooms and really explore the place. But make sure you watch your head! Many of the doorways are very low and its easy to bump your head if you're not careful. The restored great kiva at Aztec Ruins was also very impressive -- even if the accuracy of the restoration is somewhat doubtful. Next to Mesa Verde National Park these are some of my favorite southwest ruins.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank samscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Native ruins with easy access”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We almost literally stumbled on these ruins when heading to the city. After seeing the signs, we followed to the parking lot and visitor center. I love that these ruins are so easily accessible especially when we have older or younger visitors! The best is the great kiva, painted and lit to feel that you are part of history. The drums that accompany this kiva made our family feel the power of this great structure and what it offered its community! Your park pass allows you to enter without an additional fee and there was a native crafts person working when we visited!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaLuTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztec Ruins National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Aztec Ruins National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing