We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Place, But Coasting a Bit? :(”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Classic Place, But Coasting a Bit? :(”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed here my 4th time recently. I love this place but it pains me to say that this visit wasn't quite up to the previous excellent standards.

I'm a bathtub person and love the clawfoot tubs here. But the room was supposedly cleaned and after the 4th night (and at least 12 baths between myself and my guest) still the tub was not cleaned as evidenced by the ring in the tub. The room was just not cleaned well. The hall rugs could use a cleaning as well. I loved my stay otherwise but it seems the Atlantic is going through the motions as far as cleaning. The hotel really sells itself. It is a bit pricey but no way would I stay in Ocean City proper. The Atlantic is so quiet and charming otherwise. The restaurants in Berling are all quite amazing. You could spend the week in Berlin and go to the beach n Assateague, never having to venture into the craziness of Ocean City. The hotel's Drummer Cafe is great too and the staff and bartender and just so friendly and helpful. A+.

Come on, Atlantic. Make me proud again. Attention to detail as far as cleaning and you be back at 5 stars in no time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musicdinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    50
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
84
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a lovely hotel. As soon as you enter Berlin you fell like you've gone back in time but once you get to The Hotel Atlantic you really feel the ambiance and charm that's so hard to find today. Actually, you don't even have to enter - it starts n the porch, 1/2 for just "settin" and 1/2 that's part of the hotel's restaurant. We enjoyed a lovely dinner sitting outside there. Of course, we ate crabs - soft shell that night.

Our room was large and spacious and comfortable though no vanity in the bathroom, remember, it's old fashioned. The only drawback was that breakfast isn't served but we got coffee and breakfast from a little shop around the corner and sat on the porch eating it.

There was a technical problem with the room our second night - the fire alarm announced it needed new batteries in the middle of the night and it took a while till we figured how to get the battery out so it would stop yelling at us. The hotel refunded the entire night's stay for this inconvenience. More than I thought was necessary. The Chef at the restaurant was also very accommodating supplying us with snacks to go with the bottle of wine of wine we brought along and filling our water bottles before our bike rides with ice and cold water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgoldsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 31, 2013

It is a charming alternative to chain motels in nearby Ocean City. Picturesque, historic, and well worth visiting, even if you don't spend the night. Recently spent several nights here and loved the old-fashioned charm of the hotel and nearby town. Toiletries in the rooms are first-class. Rooms are very, very small by today's standards and quite pricey. Do NOT believe that the two room suite (Anna Suite) sleeps four. No way! The sofabed in the living room is very, very uncomfortable. The other couple sharing the room with us actually removed the thin mattress and laid it on the floor and still were miserable. The queen bed in the suite was wonderful but the sofabed is strictly for sitting not sleeping! Looking for a romantic couples getaway, pick this place for a weekend if you have the money. Coming here with a family (or more than two people in a room), stay elsewhere.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ems48116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Atlantic Hotel during the end of July 2013. The hotel is a beautiful, Victorian hotel with so much character. The staff at the hotel were extremely pleasant and friendly. The hotel itself is kept so clean. It was constantly being cleaned and painted and the area rugs were shampooed while we were there. Our room was kept very clean at all times, also.
The restaurant in the hotel has a delicious menu. We loved everything we tried. We ate most evenings either outside, which was lovely or inside in the screened-in porch. On Monday evening, there was a charming piano player for entertainment. The bar staff were extremely friendly, too. While sitting and having a drink, we were chatting with the bar tender. I felt like we've known him all of our lives.
There was a ton of stuff to do, too. There are tons of shops in the center of Berlin all around the hotel. The Globe restaurant next door was awesome with outstanding food and drinks. The hotel is about 10 to 15 minutes from Ocean City, so you can go to the beach and boardwalk. We also went to Assateague, another beach which is minutes from the hotel. Also while staying in Berlin, we went on a horse and buggy tour.
Just note that we brought our own coffee pot, milk, sugar etc. which we learned to do from reading other reviews on Trip Advisor. If you are an early morning coffee person, this is the thing to do.
I guess if I had to say a negative, it would be that our room, room 15 was super tiny. That was okay, because we only used the room for sleeping and dressing but the room was literally a bed inside a room with a decent size bathroom. We had the opportunity to see a few of the other unoccupied rooms while staying. Rooms 12, 18 and 20 were large, spacious and beautiful. They looked like a place where royalty would stay! Overall, we had a wonderful experience. We are definitely going back later this year.

Room Tip: Keep in mind when booking that room 15 is extremely tiny. Its a bed in room with a decent sized bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnessaPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamaqua, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Hotel for the last two years in a row, and we absolutely love it. I hate the cheap feel of Ocean City, MD, and this place offers a beautiful, romantic alternative. As another reviewer mentioned, this place has an old-world charm that you don't find often. You do feel like you are stepping back in time while you are here, but in a good way. The rooms are beautiful (be sure to ask for one in the front, facing the street. The ones on the third floor in the back are a bit small and lack the charm of the larger rooms). Drummers Cafe is great for late-night drinks (try the Orange Crushes!), and the food is excellent. Dinner is worth every penny. Although they do not serve breakfast, there is a breakfast diner across the street and a great brunch place next door that serves Mimosas and has live music (It is called The Globe). There is also a coffee shop behind the hotel. Grab a coffee and relax on the beautiful porch.

Instead of the cheap chain stores that one finds in Ocean City and on the boardwalk, Berlin features a variety of interesting little shops on the same street as the hotel--there is a wine bar, some craft shops, and a WONDERFUL Jewelry/Chocolate shop (What a combination! Buy specialty truffles and a few necklaces. Great prices!)

When we stay in Berlin, we usually go to Assateague, which is only 10 minutes down the road. Not only does this beach have the wild horses (we have seen them on every trip there), it also charges a small fee to use the beach, so this keeps the crowds away.

If you want a memorable, romantic beach vacation that doesn't involve huge crowds, junk stores, and dirty hotels, then this is the place for you. We will stay here every time we visit Maryland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for two night recently. This place is about 10 minutes or so from seeing the wild ponies on the island. It is located in the heart of Berlin, which goes for like 2 blocks in all directions-small town. We had one of the two smaller rooms so it did seem a little pricey for the room, but none the less it is a beautiful hotel.
But like other reviews state, the staff does not stay over night. We had a power outage at 1-2 am and it woke all the rooms up and the local police and fire dept I think since it was the hotel among other parts of the town were out, sorted it all out and we got power back in an hour. We didn't eat here so I can't review the place to eat on the main floor, but it smelled good. So if you need a place to crash and have it located in the heart of a cool little town complete with antique stores, cafe's and the such then this is the place for you, as this i think is really the only hotel to choose from anyway.

Room Tip: Room 15 is very small, but it is a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianArtforAnimals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We were just passing through and stayed only one night, but it was a great stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful when we arrived, and set us up in a nice little room overlooking the front of the hotel. The room was cute - a good amount of victorian antique feeling, but not that cluttered, dusty and grandmotherly feel that I am not a fan of. We had a little bit of trouble figuring out the AC, but otherwise everything in the room was exactly as advertised and it was an uncomplicated night. Like other guests I would have liked a coffee maker or something in the room - they have these fantastic porches that would have been wonderful to sit on in the early morning with a cup of coffee.

We didn't eat in the hotel but had great meals at an italian restaurant down the road and the diner just across the street.

All in all I'd highly recommend the Atlantic and would be happy to spend more time there myself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#48 of 103 in Ocean City
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#5 of 103 in Ocean City
2,120 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bedtime Inn
Bedtime Inn
#80 of 103 in Ocean City
133 reviews
17.6 mi away
Sleep Inn Salisbury
Sleep Inn Salisbury
#2 of 14 in Salisbury
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: 2 N Main St, Berlin, MD 21811-1026
Location: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing