We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - wonderful anniversary overnight!”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great stay - wonderful anniversary overnight!”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My husband & I decided to book an overnite sans kids for our anniversary. Berlin is soooo charming I'm only disappointed we haven't stayed there sooner! We booked the Queen Anne Room - beautiful, clean and romantic. Our sever for happy hour was fabulous - (I wish I could recall her name). We had wine & crab dip on the porch, it was idyllic. We had dinner in the restaurant - delicious. Nothing was open for coffee at 8AM so we went over to the Rayne's Reef dinner for coffee and breakfast - also very good

Highly recommend Hotel Atlantic & plan to return!!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christie629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    49
    14
    10
    3
See reviews for
21
84
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nyc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Very relaxing nice stay at Atlantic Hotel. Furnishings are all Victorian. Rooms are very clean and cared for. Excellent food at the restaurant...Great crab soup, crab cakes and salads...Try the evolution on tap. My only complaint about the hotel is that they should provide coffee for geusts in the am. Not much to do in Berlin except visit ASsataegue which is beautiful. However, Atlantic Hotel is the place to stay if you want to avoid the tacky revolting atmosphere in Ocean City. The only reason to go to Ocean City is to check out DEmslers Ice cream. This hotel is where they filmed Runaway Bride and Tuck Everlasting so the place is very picturesque and has old world charm.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur17Nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
212 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great, historic, hotel in quaint downtown. Rooms vary in size greatly, but all are lovely. Wonderful mattress and bedding. We had the entire 2nd floor, which included a sitting area.
Bathrooms also vary, with nicer ones having the shower in a claw foot tub. Standard rooms have very small showers. Hardwood floors and antique furnishings. Friendly check in and very helpful. No breakfast anywhere in the hotel, but nice cafe behind the parking lot.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few bucks for a larger bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jck123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was traveling with my parents (in their 80s) and thought Berlin, MD would be a nice, quaint town to use as a base to visit Assateague Island and Ocean City. It was perfect. We were on the third floor and the elevator made it very easy. The rooms were spacious, beds were very comfortable, and the decor helped to make it very relaxing. The staff was friendly and helpful; no complaints. No crowds or traffic (weekend before Memorial Day), so walking around the town was safe and enjoyable. Exploring outside the area to Assateague Island, Ocean City or the Casino was under an hours' drive.

There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but it seemed like it was separate, they could not put the tab on our hotel bill. I should probably review this restaurant separately but want to warn those who are staying at this hotel that the food is NOT on the same level as the hotel. The menu selection is nice but the sauces, soups, dips are seasoned way, way too much. If they could tone-down the seasoning I think it would make the food more palatable.

Room Tip: The rooms on the third floor seemed larger and more spacious than the second floor rooms. I
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gr8-s-cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moriches, Ny
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Old hotel lovingly furnished with antiques. Convenient stop for a trip down the east coast via the Delmarva Peninsula. Good restaurant downstairs. Wonderful porch with rockers. Close to Ocean City but without the bustle.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latticeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

This hotel has all it needs to be great - ambiance, quality sheets, cleanliness, and very nice staff.

The only drawback is the hotel restaurant, which is not good, despite the excellent/kind staff in both the kitchen and dining room. The ingredients don't merit the price - corporate hq take note.

Also, as the hotel doesn't offer breakfast, they should consider offering a basic coffee/tea service in the lobby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliaElecta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth City, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Each time I travel to Dover Downs Casino -I try to always turn off and go 30 min down the road for there beautiful restaurant. They have the best crab cake sandwich-No fillers filled with lump crab only-The restaurant is really nice you can sit on the veranda and look at the small town- great to enjoy. I love the old charm and everyone is very friendly. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelinglady409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
8.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#2 of 103 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#42 of 103 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
8.4 mi away
Hilton Suites Ocean City Oceanfront
7.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Ocean City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Property: Atlantic Hotel
Address: 2 N Main St, Berlin, MD 21811-1026
Location: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing