We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wondeful Historic Hotel”
Review of Atlantic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Atlantic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is where we started and ended a beautiful wedding. The hotel is chariming, beautiful rooms. Resturant has great food. Could not ask for a nicer weekend

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonnathan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 147 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel was chosen for us, and what a pleasant surprise. A beautifully restored historic building with careful attention to detail in the 19th century theme. There’s an atmosphere of the old west about it – you feel you might meet Doc Holliday and Kate Elder coming down the sweeping stairs. The better rooms are ornately comfortable – big soft beds and all – though the smaller ones are a bit tight. The restaurant and bar – operated separately from the hotel – are good. The only downside was no breakfast – you have to go out into the town for that – on the plus side it was an opportunity to discover the nearby Berlin Coffee House.

Room Tip: Stretch the budget and go for one of the bigger rooms with a front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

With a few minor tweaks this little gem of a place could be 5 star.

Nice room, pretty clean for the most part, nice old creaky wooden floors, comfy beds. Get a room with a clawfoot tub for soaking. A perfect place to stay that a mere 10 miles for Assateague National Seashore and the glitz and noise of Ocean City. And for the same price as you'd pay for a room at an icky high rise hotel.

The front desk people are really wonderful and helpful. Sincere. My only gripe would be for gosh sakes invest in a new quieter exhaust fan for the kitchen restaurant. Rooms above this are noisy from 9 am - 10 pm. I stayed here 3 years ago and it appears that the fan hasn't changed. Also, provide window screens so that guests can open the lovely old room windows without the occasional bug making its way inside. And I recall the restaurant being a bit better as far as as menu creativity and quality. It's still quite good, but not as good as it was under the chef of a few years back. Finally, the City of Berlin had some moron with a leaf blower outside at 6:20 am making a loud ruckus. When I called them they were not sympathetic. Hopefully they can street clean later in the day (PLEASE!)

Anyhow, you cannot go wrong here. Skip the madness that is Ocean City and stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank musicdinosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

If you like history, this is a historic hotel, rooms are decorated with some brass beds, some needing stools to climb into. There are no clocks in the rooms. Its quaint and if you like quiet this is the place to be. There are a few antique shops across the street and some other little shops. Runaway Bride was filmed here. The restaurant in the hotel is also very nice with good food and friendly people.

Room Tip: Call, do not do on the internet, you'll get better prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We near, quite literally stumbled upon this gem of a hotel while on our way to nearby Assateague Island after suffering through some torrid days in Washington, D.C. What a find. This is a must stay and see hotel for anyone traveling to the Eastern Shore of Maryland. The staff were incredibly helpful, friendly and made our night here one to remember. The room was clean, stuffed with great antiques, photos and other knick-knacks which really added to the feeling that one had landed in a truly special place. Our kids loved the local lore that hinted at ghost stories, and we had a chance to relive some of our favorite moments Richard Gere's film "Runaway Bride," which was filmed near entirely in Berlin. This is a hotel not to be missed.

Room Tip: Families should ask for the Anna Suite (complete with modern kitchen)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SummitHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We had a great stay at the Atlantic Hotel. Great ambiance, and great service, friendly staff, and wonderful food. The Bar is great and a great bartender - try his Bloody Mary!
The Hotel is absolutely charming and the Town is small but has some great history (the Runaway Bride and True Expectations were both filmed there).
Can not ay enough about the staff!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunLoversNaplesFLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I stayed here recently while visiting family nearby and overall, I truly enjoyed this historic inn. Since I was by myself, I selected the smallest-sized room- which is just right for one or two people. You may bump into each other a little if you share it. The bed was very comfortable, as was the temperature in the room with AC.
If you want quiet, make sure you request a room on the third floor. (There is an elevator.) My first room was on the second floor (the drummer boy room), right above the kitchen and there was also a porch right outside my window, where people sat and talked. Once I was moved, it was perfect. My only other wish would be to have an in room coffee maker or coffee available in the lobby. Presently, you need to visit the coffee shop next door to get an early morning cup.
Having said that, the porches with chairs were a nice touch...and there is a big front porch where you can sit and watch the world go by, surf the internet with free wi-fi, or enjoy dinner. We all ate at the restaraunt my first night there and loved the outdoor ambiance. The town has some nice shops and little restaurants, but it won't take you too long to explore them. (I learned that the diner in town, as well as some other spots, were featured in the film, The Runaway Bride. Tuck Everlasting was also filmed there.)
If you like quaint, unique places to stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgaltravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites West Ocean City
5.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ocean City
6 mi away
Comfort Suites Ocean City
Comfort Suites Ocean City
#51 of 104 in Ocean City
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
Courtyard Ocean City Oceanfront
#13 of 104 in Ocean City
608 reviews
8.2 mi away
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
Dunes Manor Hotel & Suites
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,400 reviews
6.1 mi away
Francis Scott Key Family Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel

Address: 2 N Main St, Berlin, MD 21811-1026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $127 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlantic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic 1895 Atlantic Hotel, located in the Village of Berlin on Maryland’s Eastern Shore, has recently re-opened under new management with a totally new upgrade. Victorian Period guest rooms and suites, a Gardner’s Cottage and the return of the historic Drummer’s Café & Bar are but some of the exciting new features of the hotel.Positioned in the center of Berlin’s Historic District, The Atlantic Hotel offers visitors and guests authentic Maryland cuisine daily with lunch and dinner in the historic Drummer’s Café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing