We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC LOCAL BREWERY”

Burley Oak Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ashburn,VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC LOCAL BREWERY”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We discovered Burley Oak Brewing Co. on a recent off-season trip down to Ocean City. Wow! Fantastic beer...we tried a sampler of all 10 beers they had at the time and were disappointed by none. Atmosphere is minimalist at best and we loved it! Nice, long bar and several barrel tables (seriously...the tables are barrels). Bare light bulb strings on the ceiling and sports on TVs. They were also having an all you can eat BBQ & Oysters dinner for $15; that's what the sign said, but the bartender told us $20 and mentioned the 2 blue grass bands that were playing. Not sure if that included a cover, but strange since we were already inside. And that was my only gripe about the place...we were outsiders & felt like it. I can get through that for the beer any day!

PS--they offer tours on Saturdays!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank eavatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    20
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Craft Beer Becoming Great”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We last visited Burley Oak just a couple months after they opened last year. The beer they had then was good. Now, it's bordering on great! If you like robust porters, their Nitro Vinyl is the one for you - lots of chocolate & coffee notes; a pint is like a candy bar (though I wouldn't recommend more than 1 at a sitting....)! Also at the top of the list are their Rude Boy (Imperial Red Ale) and Pale Ryeder (Rye Pale Ale). Those liking a milder beer will be quite impressed with Burley's Just the Tip (Kolsch - nails the style!). All in all, a VERY impresive visit, and I WILL be back the next time in town!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Cool brews and Vinyl”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Great brewery. My husband started with a trio sampler, then got a pint of his favorite of the three. Bartender was playing records. Loved hearing the distictive sound of a needle on vinyl.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good beer,”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Cool brewery with a lot of character. Stopped in when we saw someone in Ocean City wearing one of their tee shirts so we had to check it out. Staff is friendly and the place is chill and relaxing, nice place to meet locals and people traveling like us. There is no food or snacks here, just beer, root beer, or water.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mila918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great price on beer flight”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stopped here with some friends and they had a great beer selection and flights 3 tastes for $6. Friendly service, and dog friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burley Oak Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Burley Oak Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing