We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They are lacking in basics”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I'm staying in the hotel right now. We have about 58F outside, and 68F in the room... guess what - I won't be able to adjust the temperature up tonight b/c the heating in the room does not work. I've called the front desk and they sent a technician that gave me a bunch of excuses, and left me for the night. I guess that you would expect more from ANY hotel.
Interestingly, it's not the first time it has happened to me here... it's time to find a new place!
You've been warned!

Room Tip: Good room... go to a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Thank you for your honest feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience as this only helps us get better at delivering a great experience to our guests. I appreciate your comments about the HVAC system, we are working on a solution to this challenge right now. I am very sorry that your experience was not up to the standards that we strive to achieve. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our hospitality. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,116 - 1,122 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great hotel. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. The hotel itself is top notch.
The location is wonderful! Near Tysons corner so plenty of food, entertainment and shopping nearby. I would defintely stay here again, and I recommend to anyone staying in the area, to stay at this location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmr551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Tysons Corner Hilton for a weekend program that I was attending. Immediately I noticed they had a large parking area behind the hotel where I could park my own car and not have a valet. The best part - parking was free! When you walk in the hotel you notice how open the lobby is, all the way to the roof! Lots of small group seating which made it feel more intimate to me. There was a long bar there as well as two taller tables for about8-10 per table served by the bar. Very good bar food in their menu. The downside to a bar in the open lobby is that they have to stop serving at 11:00 which is a real downer on weekends when there are lots of groups having conversations in the lobby. Apparently this is a Virginia law that if the bar is in an open area, then they have to stop serving at 11:00. Off to the side is a restaurant that I only went to for breakfast. For breakfast it is buffet only and it is $25 so you might want to upgrade your room to include breakfast. If you have a car, you can go elsewhere (Corner Bakery, Dunkin Donuts, etc) but the buffet is really nice.

My first room was on the second floor and it overlooked the roof below - I could just about walk out the window onto the roof and the exhaust pipe - not a pretty view. I went back down and asked the person who checked me in - Tim (from the Netherlands) to move my room. That was not a problem. He did say that we were in a high density commercial area and that there wouldn't be views. I understood that, I just didn't want a full window view of a room and exhaust pipe. Since I was not in an executive room, wifi was $13 per day. I chose instead to go to the lobby and use it for free there. Make sure you ask for the "coupon code" from the front desk. There are some outlets by the couches in the the lobby.

The room was very nicely appointed with 2 double beds and a couch. For me it was a little difficult to get in the room as it is a touch of the key (not inserted) and it seemed at times for me, a little finicky to get it just right so I would get the green light to enter the room.

I would recommend staying here for either business or for a function. There would be nothing else to bring me to this area. The rooms were nice, clean and everything worked. Parking was free and lots of room for cars. I will say one last thing about Tim - he was great to work with. Several times I had to go down and ask a question or get direction and he was always pleasant, personable and very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a higher room and get an Executive room that includes breakfast. Wifi is free in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What an amazing display of exactly what customer service should look like. My only complaint was the extra "delivery charge" for room service- ew. I'd say just jack up the prices, instead of tacking on an extra charge, but believe me- they've got jacked up breakfast prices on lock! That aside, it was amazing. The lady who brought my breakfast was SO cute and sweet; she was in my room for a few minutes, setting me up, opening the shades, turning on the lights- I felt very taken care of. Then Von (or Von something?- my bad) at the front desk was a PEACH- that right there is someone who was born for customer service. I told my boyfriend after-- it's like he anticipated what I needed before I knew I needed it. I called about an ironing board (there wasn't one in my closet), and he happily said he'd send one up right away, then he called afterwards to make sure I'd received it. He had me all set up with a shuttle to go to an appointment right away, he was very attentive, and he even remembered that I had an interview and wished me luck... I am all around impressed. If I'm ever in MacLean again, I'll be staying at this hotel, and I'll be recommending it to everyone I know who travels through there. PS- The breakfast was AMAZING, and the little man who drove the shuttle bus was a total nugget, I loved him.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carly012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here recently because we attended a family event that was booked in this hotel. The room was exceptional - there was one small problem with the bathroom cleanliness, but it was quickly taken care of as soon as we called. The event in the ballroom was also top notch. The food was very good and the staff was efficient.

My only complaint would be that the only choice on weekends is a buffet breakfast. It was nothing special and we didn't want to eat that much so it was a waste of money. Definitely not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6mojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Hilton McLean and your experience. I appreciate every guest comment because it helps me know what our guests are feeling during their experience and how we can improve for next time. Thank you for the comment about the buffet breakfast, this is something that I will look into, as we want our guests to be satisfied with the meal options that we offer. I am so glad to hear that the event you were a part of went well, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Not worth the money. The price is too expensive for the rooms and breakfast was not included. Rooms and bathroom are very small and the lobby is very noisy and crowded all the time. we checked out the next day and went to Staybridge suites in McLean which was excellent.

Stayed: April 2013
2  Thank Rana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback. At Hilton McLean we strive for personalized experiences for each of our guests, actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. Thanks again for your comments and I hope that we have another opportunity to offer our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a business trip. Hotel is upscale; the room had a very nice desk to work at, plenty of very accessible outlets to plug in computer, phone and other electronic gadgets, flat screen TV, in-room coffee maker with actual half and half, etc. Mattress was firm, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonBearBacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Thank you for your review! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near McLean
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
2.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites McLean-Tysons Corner
0.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
#1 of 14 in Tysons Corner
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#7 of 14 in Tysons Corner
557 reviews
1.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tysons Corner
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton McLean Tysons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton McLean Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Address: 7920 Jones Branch Dr, McLean, VA 22102-3302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > McLean
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in McLean
Price Range: $99 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton McLean Tysons Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want it all, come to the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. The Hilton McLean Tysons Corner has recently completed a top-to-bottom transformation featuring the latest and most contemporary design in our guest rooms, härth Restaurant and Lounge. Our McLean, Virginia Hotel is adjacent to Hilton Worldwide’s headquarters, so we are always in the forefront of hospitality. This provides us with opportunities to test and unveil the newest concepts and technologies, all in McLean Virginia’s Technology Corridor.Of course, location is everything. The Hilton Mclean sits just minutes from downtown Washington, DC , and conveniently located between Ronald Reagan National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport . We are minutes from the Metro, and one mile from world class shopping at Tysons Corner Mall, The American Girl store and the Galleria. Our guests enjoy easy access to major corporate headquarters, the lush landscapes of Virginia to the history and intrigue of downtown DC, Our guests are in the middle of it all at the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton McLean Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mclean Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Hilton Hotel Mclean
Hilton Tysons Corner
Mclean Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing