We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now rush to leave this little oasis”
Review of The Greek Taverna

The Greek Taverna
Ranked #14 of 139 Restaurants in McLean
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Now rush to leave this little oasis”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Having a late lunch here didn't mean being rushed to eat or leave. Around me tables were engaged in conversation more than eating, so it felt like a welcome European pace of dining. The bread was scattered with diced olives and rosemary and served with seasoned olive oil. The Light Lunch ordered was delivered quickly but not removed until I asked for it to be (unlike many American restaurants). The waiter was efficient but didn't hover. A very pleasant couple of hours.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank egwegw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    32
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some Outstanding Dishes But Choose Wisely”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went with some friends to the Greek Taverna. They go often but was my first time here. Was a weekday evening so not very crowded. The restaurant is attractive and the menu has lots to pick from. We decided to share some appetizers and our entrees since there were so many items on the menu that sounded great. There were several specials and the one that I absolutely loved was the chicken with portobello mushrooms. It was one of the best dishes I had ever eaten and I wished that it was not just a special and would be on the menu the next time we go to this restaurant.

For appetizers we tried the fried cheese and the roasted eggplant. Both were delicious and the bread and olive oil on the table are wonderful. We devoured our entire bread basket and they brought us another one. The entrees also come with a nice Greek salad and with rice and vegetables. All were very good. Our other entrees were good but not great. We had the
grilled chicken kabob which was good but the chicken was slightly dry. We also shared a grilled shrimp with tomato dish that had a nice sauce but was not that large. Another entree that was less tasty was the grilled salmon. I usually enjoy salmon but it was quite ordinary and the least favorite of what we ordered.

Our friends also had the chicken lemon soup which they said was wonderful.

All in all, I liked most of the food we ordered and am excited to return to the Greek Taverna sometime. It was slightly expensive for dinner but my friends say that lunch is more reasonable so will definitely try it.

When you are in the mood for Greek food and are in McLean, definitely check out Greek Taverna. It is a very pleasant restaurant and the service was also very good.

The owner came around to make sure everything was good and to find out if we needed anything.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant and am excited to return to try a few other dishes on the menu that sounded great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank turtlelover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Iraq
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good service and delicious”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Had the mixed grill, which was lamb and chicken and delicious; both marinades had the right amount of lemon. The serving was sufficiently generous and the salad, rice and potato were good. Will go back for more before I leave.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WanderingBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Authentic Mediterranan food”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Greek Taverna is one of my favorites in the neighborhood. Everything seems to be made of fresh produce, the right way, and palatable. Their big secret, it turns out, is the Turkish chef in the kitchen. And, of course, we owe it to the owner, who has so deftly kept and managed this establishment, which has grown over the years into a McLean hallmark.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saboratore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wherever i am
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just freaking amazing!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I love this place! My parents have been eating here for 10+ years. I had never before had lamb now when I eat here I crave it. Everything I have had is delicious, all the staff is very attentive and welcoming. Looking for great Greek food, go to the Greek taverna.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kaito009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greek Taverna also viewed

McLean, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to The Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing