We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best sushi restaurant in the DC area”
Review of Tachibana

Tachibana
Ranked #6 of 139 Restaurants in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $35
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best sushi restaurant in the DC area”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

This is, without a doubt, the best sushi restaurant in the entire DC metro area. The vast menu is really a playground for connoisseurs and for first timers, an adventure. Don't let the restaurant's outward appearance fool you. Yes, the parking is not great and getting there can be tricky, but once you have a piece of toro, you will know what I mean. The place is filled with Japanese locals (sign that it is indeed authentic) and the sushi served is the freshest I have had in the area. It's definitely not cheap, but you won't go broke either, specially at lunch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mab9ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    54
    12
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Tachibana has the best sushi in the area!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I "take out" Tachibana sushi probably once a month, and it never disappoints. The components are fresh, the service extremely friendly and attentive, and the price reasonable. My favorite roll is their Spicy Scallop roll -- I've never found another quite as fresh and delicious! They also will grate fresh wasabi for you, and that makes all the difference.

It does get busy pretty much nightly, so if you plan to sit, do so early. If you're like me and prefer eating in the confines of your own home, do the take out at Tachibana and you'll never be unhappy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Garret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed December 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This is our favorite Japanese restaurant in the area. It's not necessarily fancy, but the service is great and food is delicious with a pretty full authentic menu. The prices are reasonable, and we always look forward to going back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank frac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The best in the DC area”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Despite its suburban location, Tachibana has the best sushi in the entire DC location. The food is consistently good, and the service is exceptional.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMMMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The food is prepared by Japanese chef. Need I say more?...
Very popular with groups and families, so it tends to get crowded and noisy. They should cover their walls and ceilings with art/paper to cut down on the sound level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hlalUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tachibana also viewed

 
Vienna, Fairfax County
Ashburn, Loudoun County
 
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Tachibana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing