We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Family-Owned Turkish Cuisine”
Review of Kazan Restaurant

Kazan Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Authentic Family-Owned Turkish Cuisine”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is one of my friend's favorite DC restaurants, and I can see why. The owner is so friendly and welcoming, the food is delicious, the service is great, and the atmosphere is very nice including an outdoor seating area that is zipped up and heated in the winter time. The place is very clean, too. For the two meat-loving friends, there was plenty to choose from on the menu. The remaining two of us don't eat meat but found a nice selection of options for vegetarians. We chose to order Turkish lentil soup then split a Vegetable Musakka entree and some appetizers. The server was very accommodating and without us asking, brought an extra plate. I can see why this restaurant has been in business over 30 years; it feels like a home away from home where you are part of the family. This was my favorite of three great restaurants visited in the DC area in just a few days!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SunshineDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    49
    10
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Athentic Turkish food wchich is acceptable for anyone”
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We have been pleasantly surprized by the quality of food and service. As we are familia with this type of food we were able to choose what we like and have been very happy with our choices and the quality and taste.
The only thing we did not like thrir famous orange paklava- it was too sweet for us so we just tried and left it.
Also, the tea was not served as it would be served in Turkey...
I was misding Tutkish musik in the background.
Sometimes such small things make the place very warm and you want to come again.
If wr happens to be in that area we would probably come again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NataliaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
285 reviews
207 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Like a favorite Turkish Uncle”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Going to Kazan's Restaurant is like visiting a favorite Turkish uncle, if I had a Turkish uncle - particularly one who knows how to cook. Kazan's is always solid, with quick and attentive (but not overwhelming) service, and large portions. You are pretty much guaranteed to get a good meal no matter what you choose, and though I am usually not that adventurous and stick with the excellent kabobs if you try something different I have generally been pleased. This is a great stand-by restaurant whether we just want to have a good quality meal with fresh tasting food, if we have guests from out of town, or family coming to visit. There's a reason it has been in business for over 30 years!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Publius-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value, excellent food”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This family owned and managed restaurant is a locals favorite for consistently excellent food, good service and value. The menu is all Turkish (nice variety) with traditional grilled kebabs, stewed type preparations and a wide variety of daily specials...of course don't forget the Doner Kebab that is available on select days! If its not available, try the Lamb Yogurtlu! Also, do try the fresh fish specials (I especially enjoy the swordfish kebab). Lastly, the deserts are so-so, but the Turkish coffee is the real thing...!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great find in Mclean”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Although Kazan's has been in Mclean for years, I didn't hear about it until recently. The dining area is well appointed with linen table cloths. While I only had a chicken and yogurt entree, it was well prepared. The mustard salad dressing is fantastic and the pita bread warm and fresh. Kazan''s offers authentic Turkish fare and is worth a try.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfromva040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kazan Restaurant also viewed

 
McLean, Fairfax County
McLean, Fairfax County
 

Been to Kazan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing