We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Date night!”

J.Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood
Reserve with OpenTable
J.Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 139 Restaurants in McLean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 123
Description: J. Gilbert's is an "upscale casual" steakhouse serving prime-aged beef cooked over a mesquite wood-fired grill. Guests enjoy various cuts of steak, fresh seafood (including award-winning crab cakes) & other house made favorites like the Maytag Bleu potato chips & Carrot Cake. The cozy atmosphere includes fire side dining, rich wood, brick & soft lighting where you can enjoy a quiet table or host a large party. The extensive martini & wine list offers the perfect compliment to an excellent meal delivered with attentive service. J. Gilbert's is open for weekend lunch, dinner 7 days a week & Sunday Brunch. Reservations are recommended.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Date night!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is one of our favorite places to go for any occasion! Tonight was a well-deserved date night. It was Labor Day weekend and unusually quiet (normally very poppin & fizzin), not that it mattered -we knew were in for a good meal. We originally ordered Caipirinhas but they were out of cachaça liquor so we had mojitos instead. Very refreshing! It was late in the evening and we were starving, so sort of over indulged. We ordered the Maytag chips (we bascially scarfed the entire bowl), our entrees were KC steak (perfectly grilled) w/grilled asparagus & roasted potatoes and a cesaer salad, 6 oz filet & crab cake combo w/grilled asparagus & garlic mashed potatoes. Total yum!! Yes, we got dessert, the carrot cake & coffee. The wait staff were great and we never felt rushed (we were one of the last couples to leave). It's not the cheapest spot but were able to use the $25 discount wer received via email (helped take some of the sting away). We really enjoyed ourselves as usual. Love this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4BearsinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    140
    32
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good dinner out with friends”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is a great place to take friends that you like a lot - because you will drop some serious cash. The food is good, the service is great, and the drinks are well made. However, like I said, the price is pretty high, especially for sleepy little McLean...
We really did enjoy the apps, the main courses were all great, the desserts are less then creative and pretty dull. I would say, if they could get a good pastry chef in there it would be an excellent place. But most the desserts felt like they could have easily been pulled from the freezer section of the grocery and put on your plate - not that there is anything wrong with the freezer section of the grocery - just not what you expect after the main courses. But they were able to fit us in on a Saturday night with no advanced notice - so I can't complain to much.
We sampled the apps, the steaks, the fish and crab cakes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jennawilliams1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For a purportedly high-end restaurant, J.Gilbert's leaves a lot to be desired. That having been said, it's good, but the experience does not match the price. It's a beautiful interior. But once you sit in a booth, you might find yourself sitting uncomfortable on a lumpy cushion which should be replaced. It's not just one worn-out booth. Next, you might discover that your appealing salad was prepared early and that the greens are wilting from an overdose of salad dressing. Yes, the food comes quickly, but at these prices, it should be made to order, not prepared in advance. Finally, although all of the entrees are good, they aren't great. Once again, the quality doesn't quite match up with the price. In sum, it's a good restaurant with a nice visual environment, but a few bucks and a little training would really make a difference.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank analytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“very good steaks”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

very good steaks. had a kc strip, others the filet. all done perfectly. had sorbet for dessert. serving was big enough to share.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Incredible Steakhouse”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was easily the best dining out experience we've had in the last year. We'd made reservations a few days in advance, and our table was ready the moment we arrived. Our server, Steven, greeted us promptly and took our drink order. The menu has something for everyone, but this is a steakhouse, and I fully intended to order a good steak. I thought I had it all figured out, but then our server advised us of the specials. Steven might also be described as a food salesman (in a good way). There wasn't anything on the list of things he described that I didn't want to eat. I finally decided on a thick-cut, bone-in New York Strip with a little spice and a little chimichurri butter. It was incredible. My wife chose one of the prix fixe meals, that included a crab bisque, a fillet, and a crab cake. She also called her meal incredible. She finished her meal off with an amazing cheesecake (that I happily sampled), and I had a delicious chocolate velvet cake with raspberry ice cream. Admittedly, this kind of behavior is unhealthy, but I ate till it hurt. We had a great meal and great service. We can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J.Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood also viewed

 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to J.Gilbert's Wood-Fired Steaks & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing