We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for a Lovely Mother's Day Brunch!!”
Review of Bistro Vivant - CLOSED

Bistro Vivant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Rt 123 Dolley Madison Blvd
Transit: Metro Bus stop one block away, on corner of Old Dominion Dr and Chain Bridge Rd.
Description: A contemporary French Bistro in the heart of McLean. We are open ALL DAY, EVERY DAY... so join us for a late Lunch, early Dinner or any Holiday.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Made for a Lovely Mother's Day Brunch!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Yummy! If you like food, you will like this place! The ambiance is simple, chic with an open floor plan. The menu is very French and delicious. My mother and I came here for mother's day brunch and had a lovely time. We both had mussels, which were slightly under-cooked, but still delicious. We also had salad, soup, amazing bread, and dessert...everything was delicious and the service was very friendly.

I'll be coming back for sure!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MountainDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakton, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Innovative, delicious food”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This neighborhood gem has become a family favorite. I've had several good lunches there, and now two terrific dinners. On Mother's Day the special lamb shanks with pesto was so good I am still dreaming about it. On Escargots Day, the mussels and escargots in a garlic sauce with gnocchi were a perfect combination. The bread, wine by the glass, and chocolate desserts were nice complements. Service is a bit spotty - friendly and helpful, but also some long delays. But it did not detract from the overall experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieUMFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible service!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent two hours, most of which waiting for to be served. At the end they could not deliver three scoops of ice cream in about half hour because they had two other tables in the restaurant ... two servers for three tables and that's too much? Shame on this place!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jaime_jv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Looking forward to returning”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We sat at the bar and had a wonderful meal. Surprised to see the escargot with potatoes although the escargot were great, still prefer a true escargot pan. Excellent French bread served. Salmon with broccolini was fabulous, perfect and tasty. My husband had hangar steak with frites which was also excellent. The chocolate cake was a tad dry but the vanilla ice cream with praline crunch was yummy. Really looking forward to trying other dishes. Glad to see a good French restaurant in McLean with ample parking. They welcome Open Table patrons but they did not receive our time change from 7:30 to 8 pm and almost noted us as no-shows. Glad the bar was open because there was only one table open. Bon appetit!

Helpful?
Thank LouisMegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Bistro!”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had brunch here today with our 3 and 6 year old and really enjoyed it! They split the croque monsier which was just OK but came with a very good green salad. They also loved and ate all the French green beans that were a side dish.

My husband and I had the Salmon with broccolini and an olive sauce which I give an A+ as well as the Hangar Steak and frites at A. Everything was perfectly cooked. French bread was fresh and A- and the escargot was B+ with snails out of shell and mixed with potatoes.

Great service, lovely ambience and everything came in a timely manner. We will definitely be back!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jcknightma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vivant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing